She's a Lip Biter

Get ready for some Lip Biting

Archive (page 1 of 5)

Cover Reveal: Quit Your Pitchin’ by Lani Lynn Vale

by Lani Lynn Vale
Genres: Sports Romance
Title: Quit Your Pitchin’
Series: There’s No Crying in Baseball
Author: Lani Lynn Vale
Genre: Sports Romance
Release Date: July 20, 2018
Cover Model: Chase Ketron
Photographer: FuriousFotog



What’s wrong with my butt?

She means those words to be directed toward the woman beside her, not him. But he can’t stop himself

from answering. Not when her ass is the most magnificent thing he’s seen in his life.

Apparently, answering her with ‘not a damn thing’ wasn’t what she was expecting.

She likely wasn’t expecting the baseball she took to the face at his next at bat, either.

All it takes is one ill-fated foul ball, and George Hoffman, Lumberjacks center fielder, falls head over

heels in love with Wrigley Field—and yes, that is her real name.

From that point forward, George and Wrigley fall into a fast whirlwind love that ends with them eloping

to Vegas. And he has his potty mouth, titty bar owning, pain in the ass grandmother to thank for it.

Not that he’s complaining or anything.

Who wouldn’t want to be married to a woman that made his heart race like he was in the final game of

the World Series?

The only problem is trying to convince her of that.

I’m a married mother of three. My kids are all under 8, so I can assure you that they are a handful. I’ve been with my paramedic husband now for ten years, and we’ve produced three offspring that are nothing like us. I live in the greatest state in the world, Texas.

HOSTED BY:

Donna’s Review of Something So Unscripted by Natasha Madison

by Natasha Madison
Genres: Sports Romance
Title: Something So Unscripted
Author: Natasha Madison
Genre: Sports Romance
Release Date: April 2, 2018
Cover Design: Melissa Gill at MGBookCovers
Wow! This book just about broke me. It was in the same quirky vain as the others and had some great laugh out loud moments but the main subject matter just tore at my heart. It was handled by with beauty and grace. With a sensitivity that was so touching. Cancer isn’t an easy subject to tackle but when it a child it’s worse. A few tears were had whilst reading this story.

Zack and Denise were just made for each other and there isn’t any other way to put it. It was fate and in Dr Denise, Jumping Jake found what he was missing and never had. It was insta love for them all. The hockey is there too and plays a huge part. The “family” are a strong a supportive feature that runs throughout. This tough and touching ride was amazing and the supporting cast made it even better. Elle and Jack were my winners and stole the show for me. They stole my heart.

Another fantastic recommend from me. It’s a tough subject but I promise a HEA is there and the ride to it is just brilliant.

Reviewed by Donna

One of the most EMOTIONAL romances I’ve read this year! Natasha Madison continues to AMAZE ME with every new release! – Shayna Renee 


Something so Unscripted is so much more than a love story, it is an all-encompassing, engrossing and engaging novel about, love, life and all the moments that make life special. – Denise Shh Mom’s Reading


Something So Unscripted is positively the most amazing book I’ve read. It gives the most heart wrenching story that will leave breathless. – Book Haven Book Blog

Zack

Finding my teammate in bed with my wife made the decision I had been fighting with for years easier.

It’s time to move on. 

A fresh start and a new NHL team in a big city. Most importantly, it’s my son Jack’s best shot. 

It would be both of our best shots. 
Denise

After a bad childhood, I made sure I would succeed, so I lived for my job. 

The problem is I die a little with each patient I lose. It’s part of my career at Hudson Children’s Oncology Hospital, but it doesn’t make the sting of loss any easier. 

Seeking anything other than a life saved isn’t on my agenda until a NHL player walks into my hospital with his son. 

We’re officially off script the moment we meet. 

If this love is anything, it’s unscripted.

“Zack.” I hear her voice and just look at my wife. The woman who said she would love me in good times and in bad yet is currently holding a sheet to cover her naked body. The four-carat engagement with matching eternity wedding ring glistens in the light. “It’s just …” she starts to say, and I look over at the man in bed next to her. In our bed. 

“It’s over.” I say the two words I swore I wouldn’t say no matter how hard it got. No matter how much I saw her push me away, no matter that I always suspected she was cheating on me. Then I look over at the man who I called a brother, the man who stood by my side on and off the ice. “You’re scum.”

“It just happened,” Colton says, getting out of the bed. At least he’s wearing boxers. His knee is still wrapped from the operation he had last month, which is why he wasn’t on the road with us, which is how I surprised them.

We were on the road for the whole week and due back tomorrow, but I hightailed it out of there to get home to my family and my son. “It just so happened you walked into my house and slept with my wife?” I ask him, and I have to wonder why I’m not more pissed, why I’m not more angry with them. “You come here and sleep with my wife with my son under the same roof.”

“Zack,” my wife says, and I look over at her again. Tears are rolling down her cheeks, her perfectly made up face now streaked with the black mascara she always wears. “Please let’s …”

I shake my head, putting my hands in my pockets. “Let’s what? Let’s talk about this?” I throw my head back and laugh. “Let’s talk about the fact that our son is in his room dying. Let’s talk about the fact that instead of helping him, you’re just helping yourself. Let’s talk about the fucking fact that instead of being there by his side with me, you chose to escape the fucking reality that our son won’t make it to six years old.”

“No.” She shakes her head, and I know that I’ve about had it.

“I’ll give you an hour,” I tell them both. “One hour and I want you packed and at the door when I come back.”

“But—” she says.

“But nothing, Chantal. You did what you had to do for you, and now I’m doing what I need to do for our son.”

I turn and walk out of our bedroom, then down the winding staircase that leads to the big brass front doors. Once outside in the warm Arizona air, I take my phone out of my pocket and call the only person I know who has my back no matter what. My agent and best friend, Jamie.

He answers after one ring, and it doesn’t surprise me he sleeps with his phone in his hand. “What’s up?” he says, his voice sleepy since it’s four a.m. in New York.

“I want out of Arizona, make the trade. Call the powers that be; I want out,” I tell him, getting into my Range Rover.

“You can’t just demand that,” he says, and I hear sheets rustle.

“Just walked in on Colton fucking my wife, so you can bet your ass I can. Make it happen. Call New York because it’s the only place I’ll go. I don’t care if I take a pay cut.”

“That fucking scumbag,” he says. “I’ll call them now.”

“Jamie, there is a top-notch doctor who specializes in cancer in New York. Max Horton’s sister,” I tell him quietly and slowly drive out of my gate.

“I’ll make it happen,” he says softly. “I’ll let you know what they say.”

“Jamie, I’m leaving here in a week regardless of what they say,” I tell him and disconnect the call. 

“One week,” I say to myself. “One fucking week.”

 

When her nose isn’t buried in a book, or her fingers flying across a keyboard writing, she’s in the kitchen creating gourmet meals. You can find her, in four inch heels no less, in the car chauffeuring kids, or possibly with her husband scheduling his business trips. It’s a good thing her characters do what she says, because even her Labrador doesn’t listen to her…
HOSTED BY:

Our Reviews of The End Zone by L.J. Shen

by L.J. Shen
Genres: Sports Romance

End-Zone-Release-Blitz.jpg

The End Zone, a sexy friends to lovers romance from L.J. Shen is available LIVE!

Jolie Louis is a smart girl.

She knows that her best friend, Sage Poirier, is a bad idea.

He’s a walking, talking cliché. The Adonis quarterback with the bulging biceps and harem of fangirls trailing behind him on campus like a stench you can’t get rid of.

Sadly, it is also the very reason she can’t seem to stay away from him.

No, wait. That’s not fair. They’re also roommates, at least until May, when they graduate from college.

Jolie is already straddling the line between friendship and more when Sage comes to her with an offer she cannot refuse: be his fake girlfriend and live for free for the rest of the semester.

She tells herself that she can handle it.

He’s just the boy she saved ten years ago, right?

Wrong. So very wrong.

He is a man now, and she is his captive

Heart, body, and soul…

** THE END ZONE is now available with an extended epilogue and surprise bonus content that will blow fans of L. J. Shen away! **

TEZ-AN.jpg

Don’t miss out!

Download now or read today FREE in Kindle Unlimited!

Amazon US: https://amzn.to/2uMkEMB

Amazon Universal: mybook.to/TheEndZone

Audio: https://amzn.to/2GOmcL6

Add to GoodReads: http://bit.ly/2HOo83N

 

REVIEW

Sage Poirier and Jolie Louis become neighbours at age ten and fast friends after she showed hm he could trust her. Sage is a spunky quarterback on the college team, already having professional scouts take him seriously. Nearing the end of their college years their friendship changes course with some very bumpy patches.

Great descriptions, including some humorous episodes like this….
“…if I hadn’t known him since age ten, I would probably find him as sexually attractive as a gassy rat.” Jolie thinking about Sage.
…make it easy to transport yourself into the story, seeing things very clearly.

A thoroughly entertaining short story that is fast paced and super easy to read. I especially liked the extended epilogue, so funny..and hot!

Reviewed by Robyn

A great short story by the extremely talented LJ Shen… Sage and Jolie are soul mates from the age of 10 when Sage moves next door to Jolie and she ends up handing him her friendship and also her heart. The two are inseparable all the way through school and end up roommates in College when Sage’s teammate makes his intentions towards Jolie known… Sage has to come up with a way to keep “his” Jolie away from a man who could be the “one”. The chemistry between Sage and Jolie is off the charts HOT… I really enjoyed this quick, sports romance more than I thought as I’m not usually a fan of this genre but Miss Shen really draws you into this incredible story!

Reviewed by Nat

 

 

About L.J. Shen:

L.J. Shen is an International #1 best-selling author of Contemporary Romance and New Adult novels. She lives in Northern California with her husband, young son and chubby cat.

Before she’d settled down, L.J. (who thinks referring to herself in the third person is really silly, by the way) traveled the world, and collected friends from all across the globe. Friends who’d be happy to report that she is a rubbish companion, always forgets people’s birthdays and never sends Christmas cards.

She enjoys the simple things in life, like spending time with her family and friends, reading, HBO, Netflix and internet-stalking Stephen James. She reads between three to five books a week and firmly believes Crocs shoes and mullets should be outlawed.

LJShen.jpg

Connect with LJ Shen:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authorljshen/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/lj_shen

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/authorljshen/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/authorljshen/

Stay up to date with LJ Shen by signing up for her mailing list:

http://bit.ly/2umcYPg

http://www.authorljshen.com/

Donna’s Review of Something So Unscripted by Natasha Madison

by Natasha Madison
Genres: Sports Romance
Title: Something So Unscripted
Author: Natasha Madison
Genre: Sports Romance
Release Date: April 2, 2018
Cover Design: Melissa Gill at MGBookCovers
Zack

Finding my teammate in bed with my wife made the decision I had been fighting with for years easier.

It’s time to move on. 

A fresh start and a new NHL team in a big city. Most importantly, it’s my son Jack’s best shot. 

It would be both of our best shots. 


Denise

After a bad childhood, I made sure I would succeed, so I lived for my job. 

The problem is I die a little with each patient I lose. It’s part of my career at Hudson Children’s Oncology Hospital, but it doesn’t make the sting of loss any easier. 

Seeking anything other than a life saved isn’t on my agenda until a NHL player walks into my hospital with his son. 

We’re officially off script the moment we meet. 

If this love is anything, it’s unscripted.

 
Wow! This book just about broke me. It was in the same quirky vein as the others and had some great laugh out loud moments but the main subject matter just tore at my heart. It was handled by with beauty and grace. With a sensitivity that was so touching. Cancer isn’t an easy subject to tackle but when it a child it’s worse. A few tears were had whilst reading this story.

Zack and Denise were just made for each other and there isn’t any other way to put it. It was fate and in Dr Denise, Jumping Jake found what he was missing and never had. It was insta love for them all. The hockey is there too and plays a huge part. The “family” are a strong a supportive feature that runs throughout. This tough and touching ride was amazing and the supporting cast made it even better. Elle and Jack were my winners and stole the show for me. They stole my heart.

Another fantastic recommend from me. It’s a tough subject but I promise a HEA is there and the ride to it is just brilliant.

Reviewed by Donna

“Zack.” I hear her voice and just look at my wife. The woman who said she would love me in good times and in bad yet is currently holding a sheet to cover her naked body. The four-carat engagement with matching eternity wedding ring glistens in the light. “It’s just …” she starts to say, and I look over at the man in bed next to her. In our bed. 

“It’s over.” I say the two words I swore I wouldn’t say no matter how hard it got. No matter how much I saw her push me away, no matter that I always suspected she was cheating on me. Then I look over at the man who I called a brother, the man who stood by my side on and off the ice. “You’re scum.”

“It just happened,” Colton says, getting out of the bed. At least he’s wearing boxers. His knee is still wrapped from the operation he had last month, which is why he wasn’t on the road with us, which is how I surprised them.

We were on the road for the whole week and due back tomorrow, but I hightailed it out of there to get home to my family and my son. “It just so happened you walked into my house and slept with my wife?” I ask him, and I have to wonder why I’m not more pissed, why I’m not more angry with them. “You come here and sleep with my wife with my son under the same roof.”

“Zack,” my wife says, and I look over at her again. Tears are rolling down her cheeks, her perfectly made up face now streaked with the black mascara she always wears. “Please let’s …”

I shake my head, putting my hands in my pockets. “Let’s what? Let’s talk about this?” I throw my head back and laugh. “Let’s talk about the fact that our son is in his room dying. Let’s talk about the fact that instead of helping him, you’re just helping yourself. Let’s talk about the fucking fact that instead of being there by his side with me, you chose to escape the fucking reality that our son won’t make it to six years old.”

“No.” She shakes her head, and I know that I’ve about had it.

“I’ll give you an hour,” I tell them both. “One hour and I want you packed and at the door when I come back.”

“But—” she says.

“But nothing, Chantal. You did what you had to do for you, and now I’m doing what I need to do for our son.”

I turn and walk out of our bedroom, then down the winding staircase that leads to the big brass front doors. Once outside in the warm Arizona air, I take my phone out of my pocket and call the only person I know who has my back no matter what. My agent and best friend, Jamie.

He answers after one ring, and it doesn’t surprise me he sleeps with his phone in his hand. “What’s up?” he says, his voice sleepy since it’s four a.m. in New York.

“I want out of Arizona, make the trade. Call the powers that be; I want out,” I tell him, getting into my Range Rover.

“You can’t just demand that,” he says, and I hear sheets rustle.

“Just walked in on Colton fucking my wife, so you can bet your ass I can. Make it happen. Call New York because it’s the only place I’ll go. I don’t care if I take a pay cut.”

“That fucking scumbag,” he says. “I’ll call them now.”

“Jamie, there is a top-notch doctor who specializes in cancer in New York. Max Horton’s sister,” I tell him quietly and slowly drive out of my gate.

“I’ll make it happen,” he says softly. “I’ll let you know what they say.”

“Jamie, I’m leaving here in a week regardless of what they say,” I tell him and disconnect the call. 

“One week,” I say to myself. “One fucking week.”

 

When her nose isn’t buried in a book, or her fingers flying across a keyboard writing, she’s in the kitchen creating gourmet meals. You can find her, in four inch heels no less, in the car chauffeuring kids, or possibly with her husband scheduling his business trips. It’s a good thing her characters do what she says, because even her Labrador doesn’t listen to her…
HOSTED BY:

by LJ. Shen
Genres: Sports Romance

End-Zone-Cover-Reveal-Banner

The End Zone, a sexy sports romance from LJ Shen is coming April 1st!

LJSTheEndZoneBookCover6x9_BW_330.jpg

The End Zone

Author: LJ Shen

Release Date: April 1st

Designer: Letitia Hasser at RBA Designs

Photographer: Rafael Catala

Model: Jorge Del Rio

Synopsis

Jolie Louis is a smart girl.

She knows that her best friend, Sage Poirier, is a bad idea.

He’s a walking, talking cliché. The Adonis quarterback with the bulging biceps and harem of fangirls trailing behind him on campus like a stench you can’t get rid of.

Sadly, it is also the very reason she can’t seem to stay away from him.

No, wait. That’s not fair. They’re also roommates, at least until May, when they graduate from college.

Jolie is already straddling the line between friendship and more when Sage comes to her with an offer she cannot refuse: be his fake girlfriend and live for free for the rest of the semester.

She tells herself that she can handle it.

He’s just the boy she saved ten years ago, right?

Wrong. So very wrong.

He is a man now, and she is his captive

Heart, body, and soul…

LJSTheEndZoneBookCover6x9_MEDIUM

Add To Goodreads

About LJ:

LJShen

L.J. Shen is an International #1 best-selling author of Contemporary Romance and New Adult novels. She lives in Northern California with her husband, young son and chubby cat.

Before she’d settled down, L.J. (who thinks referring to herself in the third person is really silly, by the way) traveled the world, and collected friends from all across the globe. Friends who’d be happy to report that she is a rubbish companion, always forgets peoples’ birthdays and never sends Christmas cards.

She enjoys the simple things in life, like spending time with her family and friends, reading, HBO, Netflix and internet-stalking Stephen James. She reads between three to five books a week and firmly believes Crocs shoes and mullets should be outlawed.

Connect with LJ:

Facebook I Twitter I Pinterest I Instagram I Mailing List I Website

Robyn’s Review of Bring the Heat by L.Wilder

Genres: Sports Romance
Title: Bring the Heat
Author: L. Wilder
Genre: Sport Romance
Release Date: December 19, 2017
Cover Models: Darren Birks and Rachel Morris
Photographer: Darren Birks Photography
Cover Designer: Wicked Design
Southpaw, Tucker Michaels, was a player on and off the field, and he was looking for his next big score.

 

Tucker Michaels could bring the heat, striking out anyone who stepped up to the plate, and he was burning up the big leagues.

At least, that’s what I was told.

I had no idea who Tucker Michaels was, and I honestly didn’t care. From the moment I met him, I thought he was an arrogant, foul-mouthed jerk.

I’ll admit he was hot—if you’re into the gorgeous, athletic type, but there was no mistaking the way he looked at me, like I was about to be his next grand slam.

Unfortunately for him, he was about to be the one to strike out. I had no interest in playing games, especially when he was helping my little brother’s baseball team.

But after a week from hell and one too many drinks, I was starting to see another side of the sexy, charismatic player.

A change of pace with this series of novellas for this author but it works well.

Kaci tries to help her much younger brother, Kaden, with baseball however her ineptitude in all areas of sport makes it difficult. Tucker Michaels, a pro baseball player, gives a helping hand while recovering from an injury. Kaci instantly labels Tucker as arrogant and a player…but is he?

Basically this is a sweet romance that leaves you feeling good but also wanting to read Colton’s story as soon as possible too.

Both Tucker and Kaci are likeable characters that have a very ‘real life’ feel about them. They both see that their priorities are important but also how a relationship could be good for them as well. The easy banter between the two main characters is fun and flirty.

I look forward to the next book.

Reviewed by Robyn
As we got to the parking lot, I noticed that Kaci was parked next to Colton’s car. Kaden was already sitting inside while she was putting his equipment in the trunk. She hadn’t noticed that we walked over, and I startled her when I asked, “How’s the book?”

 

With a surprised look on her face, she peered up at me and asked, “The what?”
“The book you’ve been reading. Is it any good?”
A light blush crept over her cheeks and she cleared her throat. “Umm … It’s okay, I guess.”
I gave her a skeptical look. “Oh.”
“What?”
“I just figured it would’ve been better than okay if it kept your full attention for the past two hours.” I shrugged as I continued, “But … what do I know!”
Her beautiful eyes flashed with what seemed like annoyance before she replied, “I’m surprised you even had time to notice what I was doing with all you had going on. I mean … first, you had to deal with practice and all those kids running around, and as soon as that was over, you needed to tend to all your adoring fans … get their phone numbers … dish out some advice … You’re a busy man, Tucker Michaels. A very busy man.”
“You noticed all that, huh? I thought you were too busy reading.” I teased—which ended up being a mistake.
With an exaggerated eye roll, she slammed the trunk and walked over to her car door. As she got inside, she snarled, “Goodbye, Tucker.”

 

Leslie Wilder grew up in a small town in West Tennessee. A country girl at heart, she’s always thought that life is too short, but she had no idea how short it really was until her brother passed away in 2014. She’s always been an avid reader, loving the escape only a great book can give, and wondered if she had what it took to write one of the wild romances she’d come to adore. With the support of her family and friends, she published Inferno: A Devil Chaser’s MC, one year after her brother’s death. With him in mind, she fulfilled her lifetime dream of writing. Since then, she’s completed the Devil Chaser’s Series and continued on with the Satan’s Fury MC Series. She has so many stories in her head, and can’t wait to share each and every one.
Leslie has been blown away by the support of her readers, appreciating every message, review, and encouraging word she’s received over the past year. She looks forward to continuing this journey with them for years to come.


HOSTED BY:

Robyn’s 5 Star Review of The Rivalry by Nikki Sloane

by Nikki Sloane
Genres: Sports Romance

 

Title: The Rivalry
Author: Nikki Sloane
Genre: Sports Romance
Release Date: November 21, 2017
Blurb
This tight end is at the top of his game.
He’s good with his hands, even better with his sexy mouth, and the best at making me forget my own name. His, ahem, stats are perfect.
But I can’t fall for him.
He might be everything I want, all rolled into a glorious package of gridiron god, but there’s one teeny-tiny problem. The vile, loathsome team I’ve spent my entire life hating—my beloved school’s arch-rival?
This guy is their star player.

 

 

Purchase Links
AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU
Review
A change up from this author but it works and is one entertaining story. This story centres around rivalry so it is aptly named.

Kayla and Jay meet at their friend’s wedding, both are in the bridal party of twelve attendants!
They feel the chemistry between them very quickly however unbeknownst to each other they go to rival colleges and both are involved with football. Jay plays offense, tight end, for Michigan and Kayla is the captain of the Ohio cheerleading squad. How do you become involved with a rival and make it out alive?

Some great one liners like this…
“Never thought I’d say this, but for the love of God, don’t swallow!”
Jay says it but it might not be what you could be thinking about. The overall humour works like a treat and you find yourself chuckling out loud in quite a few places throughout the book.
Sizzling hot passion between Kayla and Jay that really steams things up. Their love story is definitely not traditional but very sweet all the same.

Great descriptions of both characters and scenes that take you into the book, like a fly on the wall! I also learnt a bit about American football and cheerleading. I have to admit to being anxious and a bit on edge during the big game, this part of the story is so exciting and I don’t even follow football!

I totally recommend this book if you enjoy a laugh or two and a nail biting final!

Reviewed by Robyn
Author Bio

Nikki Sloane landed in graphic design after her careers as a waitress, a screenwriter, and a ballroom dance instructor fell through. For eight years she worked for a design firm in that extremely tall, black, and tiered building in Chicago that went through an unfortunate name change during her time there. Now she lives in Kentucky and manages a team of graphic artists. She is married and has two sons, writes dirty books, and couldn’t be any happier.

Author Links

The Propostion by Elizabeth Hayley

by Elizabeth Hayley
Genres: Sports Romance

 

 

Professional hockey player Ben Williamson doesn’t quite know how he got himself into this situation; hiring someone to be his date to his brother’s wedding is way out of character for him. But with family pressuring him to settle down, going stag just isn’t an option. It would just be one more thing his polite, cultured family uses as ammo against him.

Ryan Cruz is having a bad day. Wait, make that a bad year. Broke, technically homeless, and living on a friend’s couch, she’s now also unemployed after her sharp tongue gets her fired from her job. So when a handsome stranger approaches her out of the blue with a proposition–he’ll pay her to be his date to his brother’s wedding for the weekend–accepting his offer is a no brainer. She needs the cash and figures it wouldn’t be in the best interest of a professional athlete to murder her.

What starts as a simple business arrangement soon becomes more as these opposites attract and get caught up in the wedding magic. Will Ben and Ryan be able to turn their relationship into something more? Or is love based on a proposition too much of an obstacle to overcome?

 

 

 

AMAZON | iBooks | B&N | KOBO

 

 

 

“All right, all right,” Gabe said. “I’ll be serious and help you.”

“Thank you,” Ben said, happy he had the support of both his best friends. The three had been practically inseparable since they’d met in college and roomed in the athletic dorm. All three had been lucky enough to play professionally, Gabe as a shortstop for Philadelphia and Jace as a quarterback for New Jersey. His friends’ close proximity to one another was the reason Ben chose to get an apartment in Philly and spend his time here in the off-season. “I knew you were kidding when you mentioned the bet, but—”

“I wasn’t kidding. I have an idea that might work.”

“No,” Ben said sternly.

“Didn’t you learn anything from me, Torres?” Jace asked Gabe. Now that the bet they’d made last summer was behind them, they could all joke about it. But a year ago, it would have been a different story. Jace had nearly lost Aly when the three friends had competed to see who could bring the hottest date to an awards ceremony. Jace had unexpectedly fallen hard for the beautiful doctor, but all of that had almost crumbled when she’d learned he’d initially asked her out because of a bet.

“Okay, I get why doing a bet again would be a bad idea, but I do think that finding some arm candy as a distraction is a solid plan. A buddy of mine brought some chick he met at an airport to his parents’ anniversary party, and everyone thought they’d been dating for months.”

Ben was skeptical. “Like a fake girlfriend? There’s no way that’ll work.”

“I don’t know, man,” Gabe said. “It might. The secret to a good lie is you gotta believe it yourself.”

“You’re so wise,” Ben said flatly.

“I’m serious,” said Gabe. “The chick I was telling you about ended up getting my buddy’s grandmother’s crab cake recipe, and that shit’s for family only.”

“Just to make sure I’m understanding you right, I should believe you because of a crab cake recipe?”

Jace raised his eyebrows at Ben and Gabe. “It’s actually not a bad idea.”

Ben rolled his eyes. “Not you too.”

“You got any better ideas?” Jace asked. When Ben was silent, Jace continued. “I didn’t think so. There’s a decent chance this could work. We just need to figure out who to get to pretend to be your girlfriend. You’re gonna be up there for a few days.”

Ben rubbed a hand over his forehead in frustration. “I don’t know. Fuck. No one’ll want to spend that much time with my family. A few hours with them is more than enough.”

“She doesn’t have to want to spend time with them,” Gabe said, a look in his eyes that told Ben he was up to something Ben was probably going to want no part of.

“Should I even ask what you’re talking about?” Ben said.

“Probably,” Gabe said. “Because I have the answer to your problem.”

Ben looked at him expectantly, but when he realized that wasn’t enough, he said, “Fine, you’re really gonna make me ask, aren’t you? Why doesn’t it matter if she doesn’t want to be there?”

A smile spread across Gabe’s face. “Because you’re gonna pay her,” he said simply.

“Like a prostitute?” Ben replied.

“Not a prostitute,” Gabe said. “An escort.”

 

 

 

Elizabeth Hayley is actually “Elizabeth” and “Hayley,” two friends who love reading romance novels to obsessive levels. This mutual love prompted them to put their English degrees to good use by penning their own. The product is Pieces of Perfect, their debut novel. They learned a ton about one another through the process, like how they clearly share a brain and have a persistent need to text each other constantly (much to their husbands’ chagrin).

They live with their husbands and kids in a Philadelphia suburb. Thankfully, their children are still too young to read.

Elizabeth Hayley’s writing motto is best captured by the words of Patrick Dennis: “I always start with a clean piece of paper and a dirty mind.”

FACEBOOK | AMAZON AUTHOR PAGE | GOODREADS | BOOKBUB

 

Robyn’s Review of Black Belt in Love by Winter Travers

by Winter Travers
Genres: Sports Romance
Title: Black Belt in Love
Series: Powerhouse M.A. Series Book Three
Author: Winter Travers
Genre: Contemporary Sports Romance
Release Date: September 29, 2017 

Kennedy

Kennedy Kramer has lived the dream. It just wasn’t her dream. Yearning to build a life of her own, free of her overbearing parents, she opens Zen yoga studio.
To appease her distressed parents and get them off her back, she needs to convince them she’s living the life they want for her.
She somehow finds herself entangled with Dante Craig and Operation: Decoy.
Dante

Dante Craig doesn’t want for much. As long as he has his friends and can do karate whenever he wants, he’s good to go.
With nothing holding him back or tying him down, Dante latches onto Karlton’s harebrained scheme to be Kennedy’s Decoy. But it turns into something neither of them saw coming. Her ass in those yoga pants only helps cement the concept of making the temporary decoy position a permanent one.
Kennedy might have a decoy, but Dante is the one with the secret. When light is shined onto the truth, will they earn a black belt in love or end up with broken hearts?


Winter Travers always entertains her readers with quality stories and this is indeed a very entertaining and enjoyable story.

Dante is a thirty-nine year old single male who lives and breathes karate, while co-owning a martial arts business.. Kennedy is a twenty-five year old woman who owns and runs a yoga business. They have both seen each other around but it isn’t until Kennedy feels pressured to pretend she has a boyfriend when seeing her parents for dinner that they come together.

This story is a light, easy to read, feel good story that really does lift you up. The banter between the characters is fun, I especially like the way they poke fun at each other in a friendly manner. There are some hilarious moments that cause you to chuckle out loud.

Each character is described so clearly you can visualise them easily as well as each scene throughout the book. I personally think this story would make a good movie!

I can’t wait until the next book!

Reviewed by Robyn

MJ’s Book Blog and Reviews – “Funny, sweet, and with a tiny bit of drama, Black Belt in Love is a nice, easy read and that ending!”


Nannette Mertz – “Once again Winter Travers hit it out of the park with Blackbelt in Love.”


Lisa Venn Sims – “I love this series the powerhouse boys are totally swoon worthy with a bit of humour thrown in.”


Kennedy stood there like a deer in the headlights. Her face had paled, and she looked like she was going to puke all over the floor. She still looked pretty, just a little queasy.

 


 

“Kennedy,” I repeated.

 

 

An odd, low grunt came from her lips.

 

 

“You okay?” My feet had moved on their own accord toward her, and they didn’t stop ‘til my toes were inches away from the tips of her running shoes.

 

 

“Err, I’m good,” she uttered.

 

 

“You think maybe you could help me out? I’m a bit lost here.”

 

 

She looked around, her eyes scanning the shelves. “In the baking aisle?”

 


Winter Travers is a devoted wife, mother, and aunt turned author who was born and raised in Wisconsin. After a brief stint in South Carolina following her heart to chase the man who is now her hubby, they retreated back up North to the changing seasons, and the place they now call home.

Winter spends her days writing happily ever afters, and her nights zipping around on her forklift at work. She also has an addiction to anything MC related, her dog Thunder, and Mexican food! (Tamales!)

Winter loves to stay connected with her readers. Don’t hesitate to reach out and contact her.
HOSTED BY:

Donna’s Review of Puck Love by Carmen Jenner

by Carmen Jenner
Genres: Sports Romance

 

Title: Puck Love
Author: Carmen Jenner
Genre: Sports Romance
Release Date: October 3, 2017

 

Blurb

 

Stella Hart is the hottest thing in country music. For ten years, she’s been Nashville’s darling. She’s pure, sweet, and a positive role model in an industry rife with scandals, sex, and sequins. Men want to own her, women want to be her—everyone wants a piece of her, and Stella? Well, she wants out.
As the center for the Calgary Crushers, Van Ross isn’t afraid of the spotlight, but he doesn’t much like it either. Despite his reputation as a player, the NHL’s bad boy lives for only two things: the game, and his younger brother. That’s why when he comes across a country music superstar seeking refuge at his home in the Canadian Rockies, he’s not too happy with the media shitstorm this surprise houseguest brings.
With a nationwide manhunt, paparazzi dogging their every move, producers of a reality TV show baying for blood, and a record label desperate to see their “good girl” returned safely home, Van and Stella’s lives are snowballing out of control.
While Van would like nothing more than to show the purest of them all how well he handles his er … stick, Stella is no puck bunny. Nor is she as innocent as she’d have the world believe. With chemistry like theirs, tension runs high on and off the ice, but the end game is the same for both players: line up the puck, take the shot, and score. If only their hearts understood the play.
Puck fame and fortune.
Puck right and wrong.

 

Puck love.

 

Purchase Links

AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU

Free in Kindle Unlimited

Review

This book is amazing and completely not what I expected. It’s a mash of a sports and rockstar (country) book and it works so well. I laughed heaps through this book, with the one-liners and sexual innuendos it just leaves you feeling really happy.

I devoured this book in 24hrs and even when I was out doing my day to day tasks I had to keep picking it up and reading. I needed to know what happened next and the wait was just painful. The characters are brilliant and I completely love sassy take no nonsense Stella aka Country. Van was a smart-mouthed sex God on the ice in the world is hockey. Their worlds collide and the magic happens. I thoroughly enjoyed every single word.

This book is a huge recommend from me and I really love the way the story flowed. Even the down parts made me smile in a weird way. But I guarantee you definitely won’t be sorry when you read this.

Reviewed by Donna

 

Excerpt

“What are you running from?” I say, echoing the me from several months ago when this strange and beautiful creature had arrived on my doorstep, lost, and seeking refuge from a world that might have destroyed a lesser woman.
She takes several steps back until there’s nowhere left to go but on top of the counter.
“I’m not running from anything.” 
I press against her. She’s stiff as a board. That makes two of us. “I miss you, Stella. I jack it every day thinking about you, sometimes twice a day. I want you.”
“You can’t have me, Van.”
“Bullshit,” I hiss. I slide my hand into her hair, and pull her closer. I lean in, but I don’t kiss her. “Tell me you miss me. Tell me you’re thinking about me, too.”
“I don’t . . .” She shakes her head, but her breath is hot and heavy against my face.
“I’m not.”  
I close my eyes and rub my cheek against hers. My stubble is likely scratching her delicate skin, but she doesn’t pull away, and I slide my hand under her shirt. She’s braless. I groan. All those long days and nights she tortured me at the cabin by wearing only my flannel shirts with no bra, and probably no panties either, for all I knew. This little cock tease needs a taste of her own medicine.

 

 

Author Bio

Carmen Jenner is a thirty-something, USA Today and international bestselling author.Her dark romance, KICK (Savage Saints MC #1), won Best Dark Romance Read in the Reader’s Choice Awards at RWDU, 2015.

A tattoo enthusiast, hardcore makeup addict and zombie fangirl, Carmen lives on the sunny North Coast of New South Wales, Australia, where she spends her time indoors wrangling her two wildling children, a dog named Pikelet, and her very own man-child.

A romantic at heart, Carmen strives to give her characters the HEA they deserve, but not before ruining their lives completely first … because what’s a happily ever after without a little torture?

PUBLISHED TITLES TO DATE

Welcome to Sugartown (Sugartown Series #1)

The Way Back Home

Author Links

 

Older posts

© 2018 She's a Lip Biter

Theme by Anders NorenUp ↑