She's a Lip Biter

Get ready for some Lip Biting

Archive (page 1 of 4)

Robyn’s Review of Damaged Goods by L. Wilder

by L. Wilder
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Title: Damaged Goods
Series: The Redemption Series
Author: L. Wilder
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Release Date: June 8, 2017

 


Nitro-
With one look, she became my obsession. 
There’s nothing I wouldn’t do to have her, even if that meant risking everything I’d worked so hard to build. I put it all on the line and did what had to be done – for her.
I’m determined to have her in every way. But it’s not that easy. Like me, she’s damaged through and through, scarred by a past that haunts her very existence. She resists me, rebelling at every turn, but I can’t let her go. She doesn’t realize she holds the key to my salvation. She’s the only one who can calm the beast that rages within me. 
Tristen-
Nathan James is every girl’s fantasy—rich, powerful, and devilishly handsome. I should be happy that he came to my rescue, saving me from my worst nightmare, but I’ve just exchanged one hell for another. He was the highest bidder, and now he thinks he owns me. He gave me my freedom. He gave me a second chance that I thought was stolen from me. He’s given me everything, except the one thing I truly want—his heart. 
Will their love heal the wounds of their past, or will they both remain damaged goods?


 From the very first paragraph, this story grabbed me. L Wilder is a fantastic author who really knows how to weave words to create a thoroughly entertaining tale!

Intensely graphic descriptions of different scenes and characters make you, the reader, feel like you are there in the story! The characters are so easy to identify with and you find you want to get to know them more and more.

Nitro, aka Nathan, is in a dark and lonely place when he is tasked to buy back a girl, Tristen, from the Satan’s Fury MC, who was kidnapped! A new chapter opens up for both of these lead characters. It is one interesting roller coaster ride!

This is an easy to read book due to its fast pace and how invested you get in the story! I especially liked the epilogue and how it balances the emotive qualities of the prologue.

Bring on Max in the next book…I’m really wanting to know his story!

Reviewed by Robyn

Leslie Wilder grew up in a small town in West Tennessee. A country girl at heart, she’s always thought that life is too short, but she had no idea how short it really was until her brother passed away in 2014. She’s always been an avid reader, loving the escape only a great book can give, and wondered if she had what it took to write one of the wild romances she’d come to adore. With the support of her family and friends, she published Inferno: A Devil Chaser’s MC, one year after her brother’s death. With him in mind, she fulfilled her lifetime dream of writing. Since then, she’s completed the Devil Chaser’s Series and continued on with the Satan’s Fury MC Series. She has so many stories in her head, and can’t wait to share each and every one.
Leslie has been blown away by the support of her readers, appreciating every message, review, and encouraging word she’s received over the past year. She looks forward to continuing this journey with them for years to come.

HOSTED BY:

Donna’s Review of Gangster by Sapphire Knight

by Sapphire Knight
Genres: Romantic Suspense

 

Title: Gangster
Author: Sapphire Knight
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Release Date: April 10, 2017

 

Blurb
They call him the Joker, but he doesn’t joke.
He doesn’t even smile- until her.
She’s independent, stubborn, strong and she won’t be one of his toys.
He’s not like other men; he takes what he wants and he wants her.
There are whispers he’s a gangster…that his family has ties to the Italian Mafia.
No one dares to cross him until a hit is put out on his newest obsession.
What they don’t know is just how crazy he really is when it comes to her.He’ll do anything– even go to war.

 

 

Purchase Links
AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU

 

Review
This book really started out to be a great story, it was well-written but although the build up was good. It just seemed it was far too rushed for me. I thought there was gonna be a big twist after the whole 10 days thing. It just didn’t have anything really after that and fell really flat for me. I really did really enjoy and liked the chemistry and overall relationship was the saving grace for this book.

Although this didn’t quite meet my complete expectations, it didn’t take anything away from this book. I do recommend this book, as we all have different tastes.

Reviewed by Donna
Author Bio
Sapphire Knight is the International Bestselling Author of Secrets, Exposed, Relinquish, Corrupted, Forsaken Control, Unwanted Sacrifices, Friction, Unexpected Forfeit, Russian Roulette, Princess and 1st Time Love.
The series are called Russkaya Mafiya, Oath Keepers MC, Ground and Pound, and Dirty Down South. Her books all reflect on what she loves to read herself.
Sapphire’s a Texas girl who is crazy about football. She’s always had a knack for writing, whether it is poems or stories.
She originally studied psychology and believes that it’s added to her passion for writing.Sapphire is the proud mom of two boys and has been married for thirteen years. When she’s not busy in her writing cave, she’s playing with her three Doberman Pinschers. She loves to donate to help animals and watch a good action movie.

 

Author Links

Donna’s Review: Savage Reckoning by T.L. Smith

by T.L. Smith
Genres: Romantic Suspense
TLSSavageReckoningBookCoverFACEBOOK
TLSSavageReckoningBookCover5x8_HIGHTitle: Savage Reckoning
Series: The Savage Love Duet Book #2
Author: TL Smith
Release Date: May 29
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Goodreads
Synopsis
She was everything, yet she was nothing.
She was there, then she wasn’t.
I didn’t expect her, never wanted her.
But there she was, everywhere yet nowhere.
She drew me in with her looks. Locked me with her first words, then stole me with her lust.
She was everything I didn’t know I was searching for, yet nothing I needed.
She was a conundrum, difficult and confusing.
One who was impossible of staying away from.
SR Teaser SR Teaser 2
This was a great conclusion to this great duet. As in typical TL Smith style it completely messes with your mind. Although the story was a little how I expected it to be but with a few twist thrown in. This book was a little heartbreaking with the situation Malinka finds herself in and it just doesn’t bare thinking about.

Connick is just everything you need him to be in this book and he is everything to Malinka too.  The other characters in this book make it for me. They pull this book along nicely and make the story just flow. The story ends a little abruptly for my liking but it doesn’t detract from the story at all. Everyone gets what they deserve in the end.

This duet is a great recommend from me and as usually with her writing. TL Smith doesn’t leave you disappointed.

Reviewed by Donna
TL-200x300-1-180x270
T.L Smith Lover of chocolate, books, but mostly words.
T.L Smith loves to travel, loves to shop for books, sometimes shoes 😉
Don’t be shy about contacting T.L Smith, she doesn’t bite, hard!
TLSSavageReckoningBookCover5x8_BW_270
Hosted By:
Logo PNG (1)

Robyn’s Review of Mistaken Identity by M.C. Jackson

by M.C. Jackson
Genres: Romantic Suspense

 

Title: Mistaken Identity
Author: M.C. Jackson
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Release Date: May 16, 2017
Blurb

 

The last time I saw my sister was the day before she
vanished from my life. I’ve spent the last five years searching for her,
clinging to the hope that one day I will find out what happened to her, but
every lead has ended up at a dead end.
Until now.
He took me because he thinks I’m Her.

 

My instinct is to run. I want to fight my way out of there,
but I can’t. This man is my only connection to my sister. I’ll do whatever it
takes to uncover the truth. Even if it means falling right into the arms of a
psychopath.

 

Purchase Links
99c for a VERY limited time

AMAZON US / UK / CA / AUFree in Kindle Unlimited

 

Review
The storyline for this psychological thriller is very good, it certainly has a few twists and throws a few curve balls along the way to make it interesting.

Lena and Anna are twin sisters who don’t exactly have an easy time as teenagers. They both cope in different ways. Jake is a person Anna meets while both battle their addictions. Jake truly sees the best in Anna.

The story is easy to read but a little repetitive at times and long winded. The character descriptions are good and with this story that is tricky. Written from a dual perspective, it gives good insight into the characters.
The visual descriptors are graphic enough to really visualise the characters and settings. I really liked the main characters and of course, the ‘evil’ characters were very easy to dislike as well.

Reviewed by Robyn
Excerpt
Before my eyes even open, I know he’s watching me. I can
feel the weight of his stare. My heart plummets as any chance of this being a
dream disappears. Sure enough, as I roll over he comes into view, sitting in
the same spot he was before. I sit up, both embarrassed and curious at his
interest in watching me sleep.
“Thought you might be hungry,” he says, tossing a neatly
folded brown package on the bed. “It’s just a sandwich,” he adds, noting my
dubious expression.
As much as I want to throw it back in his face, my stomach
betrays me with a loud rumble. My face heats as I busy myself with opening the
thin layer of paper.
The bread is fresher than I expect and the aroma of ham
fills the air. I eat without coming up for air, partly due to being so damn
hungry and also because I have no idea when my next meal will be coming.
“Thanks,” I mutter, screwing the wrapper up into a tight
ball.
He hesitates and sits down next to me. My heart races at his
proximity and I shuffle over a few inches. He chuckles and rubs his jaw.
“You’re really taking this whole wide-eyed innocent act too
far,” he comments.
My mouth gapes. I have no idea how to respond to that. When
he reaches for my hand, I jump, and try to yank my arm away. His fingers close
around my wrist as he pulls me closer to him. I whimper. He’s so close I can
feel his warm breath on my neck.
“I’m sorry if I scared you earlier,” he says, his eyes
penetrating mine. I want to look away, but I can’t. “I’m just…you frustrate me
sometimes. I think you’re finally getting it and then you do something stupid
like this.”
“I don’t know who you are,” I whisper, shaking my head.
“Please, let me go. I wont tell anyone—”
“For fucks sake, Anna, will you quit this bullshit,” he
growls, pulling me to my feet. He steps backward, pushing his body against
mine, trapping me against the wall. Terrified, I try and push him back, but
he’s too strong. His six foot and well stacked frame easily overpowers me.
Suddenly, my blood runs cold. I gasp, struggling to breathe as his words repeat
in my head. One word. Anna. He called me Anna.
Oh god, oh god, oh god. It all makes sense now.

 

He thinks I’m her.

 

Author Bio

 

M.C. Jackson released her debut novel, Mistaken Identity, in
May 2017. When not writing, M.C. enjoys reading everything she can get her hands
on, spending time with friends and family, and cooking up crazy meals after
binge watching Masterchef.

Review: Liberate by Addison Jane and KE Osborn

by Addison Jane, KE Osborn
Genres: Romantic Suspense

 

 

Title: Liberate
Series: The Vindicated #2
Authors: Addison Jane & KE Osborn
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Release Date: April 26, 2017

 

Blurb

 

Lies, deceit, betrayal—everything has changed from the life I had. From the life I knew. I lost my team. I lost my livelihood. I never thought it could come to this.I vowed to protect her.

I failed.

But it’s not over yet.

The agency made a mistake when they decided to take my life. Now I was free, and a man who answers to no one is a man who should be feared. I’m fueled by revenge, seeking justice for her, for me, and for the innocent lives I unknowingly destroyed.

Lily drew me from the shadows. She burned so brightly. She made me see clearly and filled me with warmth. But her flame was smothered and she was cast into the darkness.

I won’t let that be her end. I need retribution. I will take nothing less.

They may have won the battle, but I’m about to start a war.

 

 

Purchase Links
AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU
Free in Kindle Unlimited
Review
I was completely torn up at the end of Deceit. I didn’t know what was going on and who was good and who was bad….and it was AMAZING!!! Addison and KE did an amazing job of keeping me in the best kind of suspense moving into this book. Liberate is the conclusion to the Kace and Lily’s story and picks up right after the end of Deceit. They keep the questions going and the tension in high gear as they take you through the minds of some seriously messed up people. It is heartbreaking and funny and masterfully written. There are twists and turns that you don’t see coming and the secondary characters are superb in this book. Addison and KE are great together. There aren’t enough good words that I can write about this book. It is a 100+ star read!!!
Reviewed by Kaci
Also Available
AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU
Free in Kindle Unlimited

 

KE Osborn
Australian author K E Osborn was born and raised in Adelaide, South Australia. With a background in graphic design and a flair for all things creative, she felt compelled to write the story brewing in her mind.
Writing gives her life purpose. It makes her feel, laugh, cry, and get completely enveloped with the characters and their story lines. She feels completely at home when writing and wouldn’t consider doing anything else.
AMAZON
INSTAGRAM

Addison Jane

Addison Jane is a born and bred kiwi girl with a passion for romance and writing.When she gets the chance she enjoys the little things in life such as reading, dancing, music, and Facebook, but her world really revolves around the little girl who calls her Mum. It’s an awkward balance between alpha males and Disney princesses but it works.

Growing up on a small farm next to the beach will always make her a country girl at heart. But since moving away to a small town close to the city she’s discovered a dangerous love for shopping.

Writing stories has been something that’s come naturally since she was young, and with the massive support of her friends and family, she finally decided to step out of her comfort zone and share them with the world.

She enjoys bringing her books to life with strong female leads, sexy passionate men and a rollercoaster of twists and turns that lead to the happily ever after that her readers desire.

Review: Tempting Justice (Sons of Sydney) by Fiona Archer

by Fiona Archer
Genres: Erotic Romance, Romantic Suspense

 

 

Title: Tempting Justice
Series: Sons of Sydney #2
Authors: Fiona Archer
Genre: Erotic Romance/Romantic Suspense
 Release Date: April 18, 2017
Blurb
He’s
sworn to uphold the law
His reckless behavior as a child caused the deaths of his entire
family. On the lonely Sydney streets, the orphan found friends. Found
“brothers.” Never again will Seattle Homicide Detective Heath Justice break the
rules and risk his new family. Order and discipline govern his life…until he
meets a curvaceous redhead. With two ugly murder cases to solve, the last thing
he needs is this disconcertingly lovely, whirlwind of chaos, yet…charmed by her
wit and intelligence, Heath can’t resist.
She
believes rules are meant to be broken
Deep into writing a murder mystery, author London Shaw is shocked when
she herself is implicated in a homicide. She can’t believe the
ever-so-authoritarian Detective Heath Justice expects her to simply ignore the
crime and go on about her business. Not happening.  Although the man’s whiskey rough voice,
cuffs, and masterful touch could melt any woman’s resistance—and does—she has a
craving to do a little investigating herself.
When all
or nothing is your only play
When Heath’s murder investigation threatens a far-reaching conspiracy,
everyone he cares for becomes their target—including the woman he’s come to
love.
Purchase Links
AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU
Reviews
OMG how hot are the Justice brothers! All hot, sexy alpha males, and Heath is no different… He is the confident, cool Detective who falls for his partners younger sister London. The red head author who quickly captures his attention with her feisty, fun loving nature. Life is never dull for these two.. Murder, intrigue and suspense fill their days. Who can they trust when even the good guys are not above suspicion. This was another great read in this fabulous series, one I would recommend to anyone with a love of fiercely protective alpha males and witty, fun loving, confident females. I’m really looking forward to what comes next.
Reviewed by Nat
Fiona Archer has done it again!

The second book in this series is every bit as good as the first one, Craving Justice! These hot, sexy alpha males curl your toes! The bond between the brothers is strong and yet fun too.

London Shaw is an ex-teacher who writes full time, YA stories were her genre but she is branching into mystery which certainly brings mystery to her door. Heath Justice meets his detective partner’s sister, London, in very unusual circumstances that are extremely humourous.

The chemistry between the two is immediate and quite explosive but also real, with opposing natures things get interesting. All of the characters are likeable..well the good ones anyway..Angelique I could give the brush very easily! 😂 I really enjoyed the cross over of secondary characters from the first book into the next, like Cleo the bookstore manager and Jinx the stylist. It is also great to meet new characters especially London’s grandmother. What a pip she is!

More intrigue and mayhem abounds in this east paced story, the ongoing mystery of an elite group tantalises us future, which A) answers some questions but B) brings about new queries.

I look forward to book 3 and the Shaw Brothers series.

Reviewed by Robyn
Excerpt
Heath had grabbed the flask from the SUV’s back seat when he glimpsed a figure through the rear window. A woman, wearing a blue hoodie and black sweatpants walked to the edge of Derek’s driveway and gazed at the house’s front door. A few seconds later, she began walking swiftly down the driveway, constantly checking the front door.Was she worried about being seen? A possible intruder?

Since he’d parked closer to the house further on from Derek’s parents’ property, the woman hadn’t spotted him. Heath replaced the flask on the backseat and gently pushed the back passenger door nearly closed. He waited until she had disappeared behind the side of the house before following.

Careful not to make noise, he followed the woman down the driveway and watched as she stopped in front of a side door to the garage, which was separate from the house. With her back to Heath, she pulled something from her pocket and tried to jimmy the door’s lock.

The woman glanced toward the back of the house, likely checking to see if she’d been spotted, then continued her efforts with the lock. A soft hiss and a “dammit” indicated her efforts were unsuccessful.

Heath also couldn’t miss the curvy shape of her figure outlined so well by the soft black material hugging her gorgeous arse. One shown off to perfection as she bent to look closer at the lock.

A tiny squeak of joy, followed by her opening the door, signaled the possible intruder had crossed a line. It seemed such a shame to stop his fun. Nevertheless, duty called…

Heath pulled out his 9mm from his shoulder holster and held it out in front of him as he moved forward. “Police! Put your hands on your head and step away from the door.”

The woman let out a high squeak, dropped the lock pick, and spun around, eyes wide. Her mouth formed an “O” at the sight of his weapon. “Oh my goodness! Oh my goodness.” She covered her mouth with both hands before waving them in front of her, palms facing Heath. “It’s not what you think. Honestly.” Her gaze snapped to her left in the direction of the back of the house as if she expected someone to come out any moment.

“I said, hands on your head.” Heath commanded, satisfied when the woman immediately obeyed. “Come forward, turn around, and face the garage door.” He saw her close her eyes in defeat before she obeyed. Heath grabbed his cuffs and shoved his weapon back in the holster. With efficient moves, he had her wrists secured behind her.

“Officer, I can explain.” She sighed. “I mean, I know everyone says that, but really, nothing illegal’s happening here.”

“Good to know.” He pulled her jacket’s hood from her head. Red hair. No, the description didn’t do the color justice, but he only knew guyspeak, which would have to suffice to explain the bursts of deeper red in amongst the lighter strands, all held in a ponytail.

Heath patted down his suspect. No weapons. And he’d have to be dead not to notice the way his hands fit over her hips, the roundness of her arse. He wasn’t a sleaze, not by any means, but he appreciated a woman’s body like any man.

Taking her arm in a firm grip, he turned his suspect around.

Green eyes framed with long, thick lashes blinked up at him. “When I say nothing illegal, I mean it depends on your point of view.”

“My point of view is as a cop, which doesn’t leave a lot of leeway on a range of subjects.”

She frowned at him, as if he was being unreasonable. “That’s a rather rigid stance. Not everything is black and white.”

Heath wasn’t prepared to debate the point. “Your disappointment is noted. Now—”

“Hey, I’m sure you’re a busy guy. And, uh,”—she licked her lips—“you need to go protect the community. That’s an important role. Absolutely. So, you know—” She broke off. “Shoo. Anyway, we can put a line under this and start the day over.”

Despite her opinion of his so-called inflexible outlook on life, he couldn’t help answering. “We can, huh?”

“Totally.” She nodded, sending her ponytail bobbing.

Keeping hold of her arm, Heath looked down at her black canvas tennis shoes to hide his mouth twitching.

It was a safe bet the young woman wasn’t a hardened criminal. But whatever the hell she was up to, he aimed to find out. First he needed to phone Derek.

“Do you know the owners of this house?”

Her mouth dropped open, and her eyes grew huge in her face. “You don’t have to get them,” she rushed out.

“Oh, but I do.” He went to pull out his phone from his back pocket, and the woman jerked against his grip. She would have toppled over if not for him keeping his hold.

Oh, no, sweetheart.

He tightened his grip, reinforcing her captivity and moved closer, towering over her. “Lady, you could have hurt yourself.” The safety of suspects was important, and the thought of the little redhead causing herself harm propelled his alpha instincts center stage. “Resist once more, and I’ll use my belt to hogtie you.”

She drew in a sharp breath. What he didn’t see was fear. Not in her eyes or the way a blush stained the cool-toned white skin of her face. And swear to God, he felt her body soften against him.

An image of her hogtied flashed through his mind. Only she wouldn’t be in this driveway, but in his bed. Lying on his sheets. Her glorious long red hair spread over his pillow.

“What the hell’s going on?”

Heath looked over his shoulder. Derek stood at the side of the house, his hands jammed on his hips.

Dammit,” came from his suspect.

A look best described as misery—from the closed eyes and turned down mouth—covered her face.

“I caught a suspect attempting to break into your parents’ garage.”

Derek gave a dry laugh. “I’ve no doubt she’s up to something, but that’s no suspect.” He strode up the driveway, his frown reserved for the woman at Heath’s side. “Meet London, my baby sister.”

Heath swung his gaze to…Derek’s sister?

Those eyes, so wide and shocked before, were now narrowed with the promise of rebellion, even as she stood there—in his cuffs.

Ah. So bravado was her chosen defense.

Heath remembered the sweet color of her blush at his earlier threat of hogtying her.

Lightning might strike him down any second, but the woman intrigued him, even knowing she was Derek’s sister. The knowledge he didn’t have to call for a cruiser to take her to booking added a new dimension to the proceedings. Anticipation flowed through Heath. He was going to enjoy this visit, and for way more than pancakes.

Time for his prisoner to confess all.

Also Available
AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU
Review
What a great start to a series! This book was everything I was hoping for, it had hot, sexy, possessive alpha males and a funny, quirky leading lady! Once I started it was so hard to put down, I was captivated and intrigued and a little bit afraid to find out who was targeting Seth and his brothers. I cannot wait to read more about these Aussie brothers in the books to come… Awesome series can’t wait to see what Tempting Justice has to offer!!

I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Reviewed by Nat
Author Bio
Fiona Archer writes erotic romance filled with masterful Aussie alpha heroes and teams them with sassy heroines who limit their submissive side to the bedroom. She lives in sunny environs of Sydney, Australia, and is harassed by a flock of wild cockatoos that take over the back yard each afternoon, demanding their feed. Her favorite hobbies include watching Nathan Fillion on television, shopping for that ever-elusive perfect shade of lipstick, and drinking iced coffee.
Author Links

Review: Mercenary by Michelle Horst

by Michelle Horst
Genres: Romantic Suspense

 

Title: Mercenary
Author: Michelle Horst
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Release Date: April 17, 2017
Blurb
LIVI’ve always been a healer, a saver of lives, until the day my life is taken from me. A drunk driver destroyed my life and got away with a slap on the wrist.

Where children used to be happy to see me, they now run from me.

I want him to pay, to suffer just like I’m suffering. I want him dead.

I used to be scared of my neighbor. But since the switch in me is flipped and I’ve become this monster, I’m drawn to him like a moth is drawn to a flame. He’ll burn me – just like the flame will turn the moth into nothing but ashes – and I’m okay with that as long as I get my revenge. 

MASON 

I deal in death. Killer. Assassin. Mercenary. I go by many names.

I miss the smell of baking that used to come from her apartment. I see the hate festering in her eyes, killing the light that shone so bright. It lit the darkness in me.

I used to be a killer until that car hit her. It woke something in me, a need to save her. 

How does a wolf save a lamb without the darkness in him devouring the little light that’s left in her?


*** This is an over the top, insta-love, hot as hell HEA with a twist of kinkiness. HEA are always more satisfying when the characters have to fight for it. If you’re looking for a jaw-dropping, panty-melting page turner then jump right in. This is a Standalone Novella with NO cheating. ***
Purchase Links
Only 99c
AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU

Free in Kindle Unlimited

 

 

Review
Michelle Horst has once again written a poignant love story that is very different and very powerful. A novella that really packs a punch!

Olivia is a paediatric nurse who adores her job, even though she cares for terminally ill children. She is a true nurturer. Mason is in a very dark place and it shows. Both live in units on the same level as each other but don’t know each other at all..yet!

This novella is a fast paced, very easy to read story that is superbly written. The character descriptions help the reader to not only get to know them but also feel emotionally connected as well.

‘Sometimes you need to be consumed by darkness so you can shine a light on another’s darkness.’ -Michelle Horst.

This quote sums it up better than anything!

Reviewed by Robyn
Author Bio

International bestselling author of Predator, The Monster Series and many others. She loves writing anything from Young Adult to Suspense Romance.

Author Links

Review: Tempting the Flames by Em Petrova

by Em Petrova
Genres: Romantic Suspense

 

Title: Tempting the Flames
Series: Where There’s Smoke #2
Author: Em Petrova
Genre: Romantic Suspense

 Release Date: April 11, 2017

 

Blurb
Where there’s smoke, Ryan is eager to jump into the flames.Ryan, aka Blaze, is a California smokejumper whose motto is “grab life by the balls and hold on tight.” He refuses to accept defeat, and that’s why he fights the world’s biggest wildfires. He loves his job, and it’s even better with a certain quirky woman making a documentary about their team. Every time she’s around, Blaze has a hard time zipping his jumpsuit.Scarlett is only interested in finishing this documentary for her dissertation. She isn’t into Blaze’s rugged good looks and crooked smile. The two of them are just buddies—who see each other naked, that is. Between his rough hands and heart of gold, Scarlett wonders how she will be able to walk away once she’s finished filming. But maybe she won’t need to. 

When the smoke clears… 

Do people fall in love after only a few days? Blaze’s idea might be crazy enough to work. When he says, “I bet you can’t handle a man like me forever,” Scarlett is head-over-heels enough to try. Which means a wild trip to the justice of the peace and a wedding dinner at IHOP is in order.

But now that the fire’s died down and reality has hit, she doesn’t want Blaze in the path of danger. Not when she had everything to lose. And Blaze damn well isn’t giving up the only thing he’s been passionate about. As they fight to build a life out of lust, will they be able to create something out of the ashes?

 


Purchase Links
AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU
iBOOKS 

Review

Wow..I’m in awe of what smokejumpers do!! I had no idea!

This truly was an education and a good one at that! As usual, this author knows how to wrestle with emotions, build clear character descriptions and provide hot, passionate intimacy!

Blaze, aka Ryan, is a smokejumper who lives for his job. Scarlett is writing her dissertation to graduate in environmental sciences and is getting an up close look at Blaze’s world.

I really enjoyed this fast-paced, easy to read story. It is so real life like that you almost feel you know both main characters. The problems are normal even if the circumstances aren’t!

Quite a torrid but also sweet romance.

Reviewed by Robyn

Excerpt

Scarlett’s heart slammed so hard against her ribs that it robbed her of breath. Through the lens of her video camera, she focused on the little figures falling out of the sky.
“When are they opening their chutes?” Her voice sounded too nervous for her own ears. If she was going to film this documentary on the California Smokejumpers, she needed to put on her warrior girl bra and panties because she was going to need to toughen up. She had a month with a group of firefighters who jumped out of a plane with everything they needed strapped to their persons, and so far, she couldn’t even watch them jump without feeling dizzy. At her side, Joe, the base camp manager for the team, shot her a wry smile. “They’ll deploy their chutes soon enough.”

Just then, several popped open and the small figures were tugged upward by air currents.

“Wow.” Scarlett smiled from behind her camera as she filmed them floating down, down, like dandelion fluff on the wind.

“Stand back along the edge here,” Joe instructed. “We’ll want to give them a big landing zone, though they’re often pretty accurate.”

“Do any ever land in the trees?” She glanced away from the lens in time to see the forty-something, rugged guy wince.

“Had two landing accidents last year. Not bad, but I’m hoping for a better track record this season. It’s why we’re practicing our jumps so often these days.”

“How do they steer themselves?”

“By moving the lines of their parachutes.”

Her palms began to sweat as a figure loomed closer and closer until his feet hit the ground.

“See how he’s got his knees together and bent? Makes for a softer landing,” Joe said as the guy rolled onto his side and came up grinning. He didn’t hesitate a moment before he started coiling in his parachute. In seconds he had it stuffed away and was pulling objects from his fire suit.

“These men and women need to be ready to hit the ground running.” Joe cupped his hand around his mouth and hollered to the others touching down on earth. “You’ve got only about a minute, jumpers! Haul ass if you don’t want toilet duty when we get back to base!”

Several huffs of laughter sounded, but Scarlett heard the threat in Joe’s tone. The manager was as serious as a heart attack when it came to his crew and running a tight ship. She’d spoken to him at length before persuading him to allow her to make this documentary for her dissertation.

She was a step away from receiving her doctorate in environmental sciences. The step seemed rather big to her, because it meant living, eating, and breathing smokejumpers for the next month. Before now, she’d believed she was prepared.

As the guys strode toward her and Joe, faces fierce with something she recognized as determination, more adrenaline hit her system.

Big guys and roped with muscle, judging by the rolling way they walked. She swallowed hard and forced herself not to take a step back.

She spent her days in the library. For fun she had geek-a-thons of Firefly and Harry Potter. She was far from her element out of doors, surrounded by men who harnessed the power of wildfires.

She glanced up, her gaze traveling what seemed like forever over powerful thighs, a broad chest, and thick shoulders. She stopped breathing altogether. Maybe the last time her heart had knocked, it had finally given out. Because surely she was looking at a god.

Or archangel.

 

 

Also Available

AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU
KOBO / iBOOKS

Author Bio

Em Petrova was raised by hippies in the wilds of Pennsylvania but told her parents at the age of four she wanted to be a gypsy when she grew up. She has a soft spot for babies, puppies and 90s Grunge music and believes in Bigfoot and aliens. She started writing at the age of twelve and prides herself on making her characters larger than life and her sex scenes hotter than hot.She burst into the world of publishing in 2010 after having five beautiful bambinos and figuring they were old enough to get their own snacks while she pounds away at the keys. In her not-so-spare time, she is fur-mommy to a Labradoodle named Daisy Hasselhoff and works as editor with USA Today and New York Times bestselling authors.

Author Links
 

WEBSITE
FACEBOOK

TWITTER
GOODREADS

AMAZON
NEWSLETTER

Review: Techy by Leann Ashers

by LeAnn Ashers
Genres: MC Romance, Romantic Suspense

 

Title: Techy
Series: Devils Soul MC #2
Author: LeAnn Ashers
Genre: Romantic Suspense/MC Romance
Release Date: April 6, 2017
Blurb
AlishaMy story isn’t a very conventional one. I met my man online, which isn’t a
shocking thing nowadays.I sure didn’t know that he would rescue me from hell.

I had been stuck in hell with no way out. Then Techy swooped in with guns
blazing and took me out of there. A knight in shining leather.

I didn’t expect to feel what I feel; that I would fall in love, that I would
feel safe and protected.

I had never felt that before.

Until Techy.

Techy is a member of the Devil’s Souls MC, the most notorious MC in Texas. They
love hard and fight harder. You mess with their family, hell is something you’d
beg for.

Shit hits the fan when someone from my past comes to get what my dead father
never gave back to him.

My name is Alisha and this is my story.

Techy

A man is after my woman.

He won’t be a man much longer.

He dares to try and take her from me?

Hell is something he’ll beg for. Because nobody, and I mean nobody, looks in
Alisha’s direction in a way I don’t like. If they do? They’ll be eating their
teeth.

If you threaten her? Death is an easy way out.

I will do whatever it takes to protect her.

This book has a HEA, with no cheating and a obsessed alpha. If you don’t like
instalove this book isn’t for you.

 

 

Purchase Links

 

AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU
Review
I thoroughly enjoyed this story.

A sappy romance-yes! A love story – definitely! Entertaining – for sure!

This author really knows how to write an entertaining romance that leaves the reader feeling good inside! After all isn’t that what readers want? This author delivers that plus a little mystery to keep things sparking.

Alisha’s life pre Techy, aka Jordan, is definitely not for the faint of heart however in true knight on a kickbutt bike Jordan saves the day! And that’s only the beginning!

The characters are fun and able to laugh at themselves, Alisha certainly changes and her sassy strength is appealing. Jordan…ah…he is gorgeous inside and out!

The story is fast paced and really easy to read. I’m definitely going to read the next book!

Reviewed by Robyn
Also Available
AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU
B&N / KOBO / iBOOKS

 

Author Bio
LeAnn Ashers is a blogger turned author who spends her days reading and writing. She released her debut novel early 2016. LeAnn writes about strong minded females and strong protective males who love their women unconditionally. She is the author of the Forever Series and the Devil Souls MC.
 
Author Links

Review: Devil You Know by L.A. Fiore

by L.A. Fiore
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Suspense

 

 

Title: Devil You Know
Series: Lost Boys #1
Author: L.A. Fiore
Genre: Contemporary Romance/Romantic Suspense
Release Date: March 10, 2017

 

Blurb
Damian Tate. One look into his sad green eyes and I was hooked. I wanted to be the one to make him laugh, to make him smile. I hadn’t expected him to be the one to make me blush, to make me hot…to make me fall in love. He was my first kiss, my first love, my first everything. I wanted forever with him, but life got in the way.He enlisted, I went to college, and for years we were never in the same place long enough to pick up where we left off.

Thirteen years after he left, tragedy brings him home. The stoic boy I fell in love with grew into a quiet, dangerous and wildly sexy man. He still tugs on all the right strings for me, but he seems determined to keep me at arm’s-length.

However, when trouble comes knocking at my door, he is the one to put himself between that trouble and me.

Spending time with him might drive me insane, or it might be our second chance at first love.

 

 

Purchase Links

AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU

Review

This book was heartbreaking from the off and I  just loved the way the story evolved from them being young and carefree to a point to the stresses and strains that life throws at you. I love the writing and the way the story was told it was a dual point of view and the way the two meshed together was brilliant.

Damien, God did he have a hell of a life. Mental abuse and hatred filled is young days and he had no one until the Aherns stepped in and rescue him. Cam and Thea were twins that barrelled into Damien’s life and Thea stole his heart. This story is about their painful journey of having almost having it all but circumstances stopped them and this is their battle to be as one.

A great read that is so much more than just a love story. It’s a story of hope, of longing and finally becoming something, realising you are someone and that your past doesn’t shape the man you become. I completely recommend this book. It made me laugh and cry so so much.

Reviewed by Donna

 

 

Excerpt

Before I could scan the crowd for Damian, a hand wrapped around mine…one with cuts and blood on the knuckles. It was Damian and he looked pissed.

“What the fuck are you doing here?”

My heart hurt seeing his face—a cut near his left eye, blood smeared down his cheek and a blooming bruise on his jaw. “I heard you and Cam talking. I was curious.”

He had been walking me toward the exit but those words stopped him. His feet sort of rooted themselves to the concrete floor as his head turned in my direction. “So you walked here alone?”

“It wasn’t far.”

That wasn’t the right answer apparently because he hissed between his teeth. It wasn’t an actual word, just a release of frustration.

He started toward the exit again. “What are you fighting when you are out there?”

We had just reached the stairs when he pulled me behind them and pressed me up against the wall. “Come again?”

“When you fight, what are you fighting?”

“Not who am I fighting?”

“No, your opponent isn’t what you’re fighting.”

He leaned in and lowered his head to look me right in the eyes. “How do you know that?”

I gently wiped the blood from his face. “I know you.”

He had the strangest reaction to that. He closed his eyes, like he was in pain, and lowered his forehead to my shoulder. “This can’t happen.”

Those words caused a chill to move right down my spine. He was wrong. It totally could and should happen. “Why not?”

He lifted his head and for the first time I saw so much more in those eyes. “Cam is a good friend and your parents are like my own.”

“And?”His lips brushed along my jaw and I had to lock my knees to keep from sliding down the wall. “And if I did to you all the things I wanted, I couldn’t sit at their table without them knowing that I claimed every part of you.”

Author Bio
L.A. Fiore is the author of several books including: Beautifully Damaged, Beautifully Forgotten, Beautifully Decadent, His Light in the Dark and A Glimpse of the Dream. She’s also the social secretary for her two children, a tamer of ill-mannered cats, the companion to one awesome dog and married to her best friend. She likes her wine red, her shrimp chilled and her social gatherings small and intimate.
Author Links
Older posts

© 2017 She's a Lip Biter

Theme by Anders NorenUp ↑