She's a Lip Biter

Get ready for some Lip Biting

Archive (page 1 of 8)

Cover Reveal: Scarred by Elizabeth Knox

by Elizabeth Knox
Genres: Romantic Suspense

 

 

Title: Scarred
Series: Demons of Hell #1
Author: Elizabeth Knox
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Cover Design: CT Cover Creations
Release Date: July 28, 2018
Blurb
I had it all, or at least I did according to everyone else.
I had the club, I had the most powerful husband, the Prez of the Demons
of Hell MC.
I had a family.
He’d told me time and time again the club was my “family”.
My “family” let a lot of things happen to me that shouldn’t of.
My “family” did a great job of turning a blind eye.
My “family” was great at letting me be the punching bag for their
mistakes. For all of his pent up anger and frustrations.
My “family” was the reason I almost died.
When Rage came into my life I saw nothing else.
His name was a warning and I didn’t listen.

 

Author Bio
Elizabeth is a romantic suspense author most popular for her
Mob and MC books, the international bestselling author of Reign, Redemption,
Revenge, Relentless, Promised, Tough as Steele, Stripping a Steele &
Blackjack. 
Author Links

Donna’s Review of Dagger in the Sea by Cat Porter

by Cat Porter
Genres: Mafia Romance / Organised Crime, Romantic Suspense

 

 

Title: Dagger in the Sea
Author: Cat Porter
Genre: Mafia Romantic Suspense
Release Date: June 6, 2018

 

Blurb
“The velvet tongue”
That’s what they hear
“The silent fixer”
That’s what they whisper
“Turo DeMarco can slice you with that smile”
It’s been known to happen
But the one truth they don’t know could get me killed.
It’s already gotten me thrown into the fire.
I may be the rising dark star of Chicago’s criminal underworld, but I’ve
been warned,
and I have one chance to make things right, flying halfway around the
world to do it.
Until one hot AF heiress gets in my way with an unforgettable kiss and a
blast of gunfire, hurling us both into the eye of a Mediterranean hurricane,
snaring us in the ultimate high stakes games
Our impulsive escape to a Greek island exposes cruel lies, sour truths,
explosive passion…and bares our bitter souls
I was always told that actions speak louder than words,
and Adriana proved it to me.
Yet there’s one thing that speaks even louder—
Blood
In my heart, on my hands.
Blood never lies, blood never plays games.
And neither do I.

 

Purchase Links
$2.99 for a VERY limited time!
AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU
Free in Kindle Unlimited
Review

Let me start by saying, I love Cat Porters writing and with this book the writing could not have been more faultless. I loved the characters and this story had so much potential but I found the story dragged and was very slow. Now don’t get me wrong there isn’t anything wrong with that but I like a little more get and go with a story and this just didn’t really take off until 70% and then went full steam ahead and the story raced forward and was really enjoyable.

Turo and Adriana were fantastic, the supporting cast was brilliant and there were a few surprises thrown in there too character wise. I would recommend this if you love a slow burn book, it will probably a top read for you but unfortunately this time for me, I just didn’t love it.

Reviewed by Donna

 

 

Author Bio
Cat Porter is the author of the Lock & Key biker series
and its spinoff Fury, as well as the historical romance Wolfsgate. She was born
and raised in New York City, but also spent a few years in Texas and Europe
along the way. As an introverted, only child, she had very big, but very secret
dreams for herself. She graduated from Vassar College, was a struggling
actress, an art gallery girl, special events planner, freelance writer,
restaurant hostess, and had all sorts of other crazy jobs all hours of the day
and night to help make those dreams come true. She has two children’s books
traditionally published under her maiden name. She now lives on a beach near
Athens, Greece with her husband and three children and a very, very big dog,
and freaks out regularly and still daydreams way too much. She is addicted to
reading, beach cafés, Pearl Jam, her iPhone, her husband’s homemade red wine,
and freshly roasted coffee, all those all the time. Writing has always
kept her somewhat sane, extremely happy, and a productive member of society.
Well, kind of.

 

Author Links

Nat’s Review of Chevelle by Sapphire Knight

Genres: Romantic Suspense

 

Title: Chevelle
An Oath Keepers MC Standalone
Author: Sapphire Knight
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Release Date: May 29, 2018

 

Blurb
Mercenary
She was just a job.
I needed to get in and uncover the Iron Fists’ next move.
They’d hit the Oath Keepers enough in the past, and being the newest member, it
was up to me to get close. Had I known I’d be getting close to Chevelle, maybe
I could’ve prepared myself. I went in seeking revenge and came out wanting to
protect one thing—her. 
Chevelle 
Running The Pit was my life. 
I needed nothing and no one except my cars and a
heart-thumping race. Gear head, Pit Master, alpha bitch, take your pick on what
you’d rather call me. However, make note of one thing: I take shit from no one.
Not even a broody, bossy, gorgeous biker aiming for my race spot and heart.
*Warning- this book is panty melting hottttttt!* 
Standalone 
HEA 
No Cheating 

 

Purchase Links
AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU

 

Review
Wow, this book was HOT! The chemistry was off the charts from Mercenary & Chevelle’s very first meeting… both very alpha not willing to give an inch they butted heads more than a few times before giving into the undeniable passion between them in the most public of ways!! Mercenary had a job to do and that was to keep The Pit and it’s owner Chevelle safe from the Iron Fists a rival gang who had tormented the Oath Keepers MC members and their families… this is where the fun begins, in the heat of all the rivalry that was happening between the two clubs, a burgeoning love story between two headstrong dominant people who were not about to back down from the fight or each other.
Reviewed by Nat
Playlist
Flower – Moby
Come Together – Gary Clark Jr
Zombie – The Cranberries
Dreams – The Cranberries
Thought Contagion – Muse
If You Want Love – NF
Hands Up – NF
Got You On My Mind- NF
Natural Blues – Moby
Wolves – Selena Gomez, Marshmello
Real – NF
Hash Pipe – Weezer
Till It’s Gone – Yelawolf
Suit and Jacket – Judah and the Lion
You’re Special – NF
Tattooed In Reverse – Marilyn Manson
I Don’t Like The Drugs – Marilyn Manson
Daylight – Yelawolf
Let’s Roll – Yelawolf Ft. Kid Rock
Hate Me – Blue October
Uprising – Muse
Psycho – Breaking Benjamin
Also by Sapphire Knight
Oath Keepers MC Series
Secrets
Exposed
Relinquish
Forsaken Control
Friction
Princess
Sweet Surrender – free short story
Love and Obey – free short story
Daydream
Baby
Chevelle
Russkaya Mafiya Series
Secrets
Corrupted
Corrupted Counterparts – free short story
Unwanted Sacrifices
Undercover Intentions
Dirty Down South Series
1st Time Love
3 Times the Heat
Complete Standalones
Gangster
Unexpected Forfeit
The Main Event – free short story
Oath Keepers MC Collection

 

Russian Roulette

 

Author Links

Robyn’s Review of Mafia Princess by Bella J

by Bella J
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Title: Mafia Princess
Series: Royal Mafia Series
Author: Bella J.
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Release Date: May 8, 2018
Publisher: Crave Publishing

 

Rules. I’m starting to think I have the natural talent for breaking them. 

I hate rules. Always have. Especially since I had them shoved in my face my entire life.

I didn’t ask to be a Valenti. And I sure as hell didn’t agree to follow all their goddamn rules. 

Yet it’s been years since I broke one of my family’s most cardinal laws. It was a mistake—I know that now. But that’s the thing about mistakes. You never know you’re about to make one until it’s too late.

Unfortunately, every transgression, every wrong decision has a way to demand atonement. No matter if it’s hours, days, or years after. 

I’m still waiting for my past mistakes to exact payment. It’ll come. I know it will. 

But now, while I’m sitting in the interrogation room staring at the sinfully gorgeous Detective Lorik Stone, I can’t help but think about all my family’s rules…

…and how I’m about to break another one.

 The ‘blurb” or summary about this book is intriguing and grabbed my interest straight away, the story, however, is the real deal..a total gem.

Detective Lorik Stone is a detective in Boston and has been for the previous four years. His super giant ego helps to get him into quite a few sticky situations, although he is very intelligent, observant and good at his job. Karina Valenti is a reluctant mafia Princess, she is entering her third year as a law student much to her father’s disapproval however she too is intelligent and wants more out of life than to be a part of her father’s ‘business’.

There is an intense sexual attraction between Lorik And Karina, one that is breaking an unwritten rule on both sides…the Mafia and the police do not mix! However they both feel this incredible chemistry that pulls them together like north and south magnets attract, so do they!

The Valenti family and the newer Manfusco family, who arrived in the area four years ago, are at war and this becomes the centre of the story. Things really heat up and the action is intense. Emotions run rampant and to be honest at times I could cheerfully clock a few characters over the head myself!

There is action, there is drama and there is plenty of passion in this fast-paced, easy to read story. But there are also some interesting life lessons that do make you think and realise things are not always black and white, that gray areas are very real and can be enormous.

I will definitely be going back for a taste of this author’s work!

Reviewed by Robyn
I was a strong woman. Men hardly ever intimidated me, and seducing me was no easy task. But this man? This man had my attention for nothing more than a few minutes, and already my mind was filled with dirty thoughts and wild fantasies.  

He stepped up to me, his face inches from mine. I felt his warm breath skid across my cheek, and the sensation stormed straight through my body, settling right between my thighs.


As he leaned closer, the warmth of his breath started to stir an array of sensations all through my body. My heart was now jackhammering against my ribs, my throat feeling like the damn desert. 


When he lifted his arm, his gaze never leaving mine, I sucked in a breath. And then he reached behind me, his lips mere inches away, and pushed a button next to my head and said, “Monroe, open the door for Miss Valenti.”


I thought I died. I was dead. I died and collapsed into a giant puddle of pathetic womanhood. 


The click of the door sounded behind me, and I was out of there faster than you could say “what the fuck was that?”


As my heels clicked down the hall, my heartbeat slowly returning to normal, I heard a second pair of footsteps behind me.


“You in town long, Miss Valenti?” 


I took a deep breath, but I didn’t slow down. “You’re the detective, you tell me.”


“I’m guessing no more than a few weeks?”


“Is that you guessing or saying?”


He fell into step next to me. “I’m going to go with guessing.”


I stopped and turned to face him. “You’re good, Detective, I’ll give you that. But let’s say you’re right—and I’m not saying you are—but if I am the daughter of an Italian-American mafia boss, as you suspect I am, you’ve got real balls summoning me down here and then putting me in a damn interrogation room like a criminal. I’d say that wasn’t a very smart move, Detective.”


He studied my face, and I didn’t even blink. Heck, I didn’t even breathe. 


“Are you threatening me, Karina?” Lord help me, but the way my name rolled off his lips was like eroticism on fucking steroids. It was like porn to my ears.


I took a step back and tried to ignore the tingles spreading through my bones like wildfire, and I squared my shoulders. 


“Not at all.” I lifted my voice a single octave. “I’m merely stating that if what you said was true, you just made one hell of a rookie mistake.”


With my words hanging in the air like the threat it was meant to be, I turned on my heel and sashayed my curvy ass out of there. I could feel his eyes on me the entire time, until I exited the building.


The moment I stepped outside, I took a deep breath, letting the fresh air fill my lungs. The feeling that scratched against every bone in my body was too damn familiar. I’d experienced this before, the feeling of a man being able to electrify my body without even touching me. It was unnerving, yet exciting at the same time. But I learned the hard way that this feeling was also powerful enough to bring me to my knees. I promised myself I would never let a man affect me like that again. Too much was at stake, and I already had too many regrets because I gave in to that temptation once. 


But, by God, my body felt like it was on fire just having Detective Stone’s eyes on me. He wasn’t even touching me, or close to touching me, for that matter. There was sweat running down my back, for God’s sake. That was how he managed to affect me within less than twenty-five minutes. 


It was the eyes. It had to be those dark goddamn eyes. Devil eyes, that was what they were. Dark windows into the demonic world where he could make you offer up sweet, innocent little puppies with a single glance. Damn, I was pretty sure he would make you want to toss in a tiny kitten as well, just for good measure.


I exhaled and looked up to the sky. Was this the universe’s way of playing one sick joke on me, showing me no matter how hard I tried to put the past behind me, there was no way of escaping who I was? A woman drawn to the forbidden, charmed by the prospects of breaking rules, and resisting authority by walking on the edge?


No. Not again. Never.

 

All the way from Cape Town, South Africa, Bella J lives for the days when she’s able to retreat to her writer’s cave where she can get lost in her little pretend world of romance, love, and insanely hot bad boys.

Bella J is a Hybrid Author with both Self-Published and Traditional Published work. Even though her novels range from drama, to comedy, to suspense, it’s the dark, twisted side of romance she loves the most.
HOSTED BY:

Robyn’s 5 Star Review of Sinister Love by T.L. Smith

by T.L. Smith
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Title: Sinister Love
Series: Dark Intentions Duet #2
Author: T.L. Smith
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Release Date: April 24, 2018
He was a drug I couldn’t kick. I’d overdosed on him before. It didn’t turn out well.
I was stupid enough to let him crack my heart, in hopes we would fall off the same cliff together. 
No matter how much my idiotic heart wanted to love him, my head knew better. 
He didn’t choose me. 
He chose her. 
That’s where the problem started. 
Maybe that’s how it should end.


Book 2 starts directly on from the first book and bam you are immediately caught up in this incredible story.

Saskia is exactly where she was at the conclusion to book one..in trouble! Ryken is very mixed up but full of determination.

Throughout book 1 I guessed at the ‘confessor’s’ identity but in book 2 my guesses changed significantly, very clever TL Smith to keep us on our toes! The excitement and drama in this book is practically nonstop and will have your heart racing at times. There is no holding back in this story, just how it’s meant to be! There are some twists and turns that will catch you by surprise!

Love triangles are usually intense but this one is more so. Livia, Ryken and Saskia…not an easy situation especially with the types of characters they are in the story, definitely a sinister love. Ryken seems to make both cousins a little nutty at times with crazy train derailing a few times.

This is a passionate book which explores some very dark areas but TL Smith does so with a panache that is uniquely her!

Reviewed by Robyn
HOSTED BY:

Robyn’s Review of Cartel Queen by Chelsea Camaron

by Chelsea Camaron
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Title: Cartel Queen
Series: Almanza Duet #2
Author: Chelsea Camaron
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Release Date: April 19, 2018

 

 

 

Hardened.
Persistent.
I refuse to break at the hands of a man.
I am Mari Belle Dominguez.
Strong woman.
My situation made me his.
He’ll never really have me.
I’ll never let him hurt me again.
That is … until he claims more than my house, my body, and my life.
When Javier Almanza claims my heart, I’m no longer his cartel bitch.
No, I am the queen.
I thought she wasn’t ready for my world. I thought she needed my protection. I am Javier Almanza, kingpin with a woman who didn’t need a single thing from me, but my love.
The hardest fought wars are the biggest lessons learned. She was my lesson in forgiveness.
*You must read Cartel Bitch before Cartel Queen in order for this book to make sense. Thank you and happy reading. This is book two in the Almanza Crime Family Duet and a full-length romance. This is a dark, edge of your seat romantic suspense featuring an antihero so there is a level of violence inside that may not be suitable for some readers. This is not meant to be an actual depiction of life inside a Cartel but rather a work of fiction meant to entertain.

 


I eagerly awaited the second book in this duet and it was definitely worth the wait! Once again Chelsea Camaron has woven her magic with words by writing a vividly descriptive ending to this amazing story.

Mari and Javier were once a fairytale couple, once upon a time! Instead, as the author says so clearly, they “…were in this cyclone of hatred both of us broken, both of us beaten, and both of us defeated.”

Tears rolled down my cheeks at times, from the deep despair I felt. A pain that, although created by words, was so real. This was how emotive the language and scenes were and a very good indication of how the writing is so absorbing and brilliantly crafted.

Raw sexual passion that was hot, hot, hot! The chemistry between Javi and Mari is still sizzling and demanding however it isn’t something that takes over the storyline, it supports it.

There are twists and turns in the plot to change things up and keep readers on their toes, you never know what’s around the corner, which is exciting and entertaining. This fast-paced story is very easy to read, yes there is violence, darkness, the effects of drugs but it is all smoothly blended into the storyline. My only concern is that it is quite short so that’s why I gave it 4 1/2 stars and the only reason.

 Reviewed by Robyn

Chelsea Camaron is a small town Carolina girl with a big imagination. She is a wife and mom chasing her dreams. She writes contemporary romance, erotic suspense, and psychological thrillers. She loves to write blue-collar men who have real problems with a fictional twist. From mechanics to bikers to oil riggers to smokejumpers, bar owners, and beyond, she loves a strong hero who works hard and plays harder.



HOSTED BY:

Robyn’s Review of Surface by Anna Brooks

by Anna Brooks
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Title: Surface
Series: Guarding Her #1
Author: Anna Brooks
Genre: Romantic Suspense

Release Date: April 11, 2018


 

She was off limits. Too young. The boss’s daughter. Forbidden.

 


I knew it all along, but it didn’t change the absolute possession I felt when it came to her… nothing would change how I felt about her.

So I did what I had to; I waited until the time was right to make her mine, only to find out there is one thing that could ruin it all.

Anna Brooks is a new author to me and one I immediately liked, her writing style is easy and smooth flowing.

Paisley and Royce meet when she is about fourteen and she immediately crushes on him. With her father owning and running a large security company and Royce as his employee, Paisley fears she will never have her fantasy of a romance between them come true, especially as she is about seven years his junior.

There are great characters in this story, starting with Paisley and Royce who are both strong and honest people. I particularly enjoyed their honesty during their ‘talks’! Erik and Polly are protective and kind, the type of people who treat their employees more like family. A few interesting characters show possible future stories which is exciting. Brinley is a character that peaks your interest straight away and continues to hold it.

The book deals with quite a few sensitive issues like physical and mental abuse, guilt and death, all intricately woven into the storyline without the need for graphic details. The visuals are still loud and clear though.

Basically, this is a sweet love story but be warned there are a few curve balls thrown into the mix.

Reviewed by Robyn
Anna began writing when she thought the world would want to hear her sick lyrics through song. Since then, she’s realized her childhood dream wasn’t so far-fetched, just misguided. Now she writes romance with real emotions and happy endings. If Anna isn’t writing or reading, she can be found by a space heater painting her nails and drinking a ridiculous amount of Diet Dr Pepper. She also likes to hang out with her husband and two boys. If it wasn’t for them, she wouldn’t ever leave the house. Anna was born in Wisconsin but now lives in the Evergreen State.

HOSTED BY:

Cover Reveal: Sinister Love by T.L. Smith

by T.L. Smith
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Title: Sinister Love
Series: Dark Intentions Duet #2
Author: T.L. Smith
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Release Date: April 24, 2018
He was a drug I couldn’t kick. I’d overdosed on him before. It didn’t turn out well.
I was stupid enough to let him crack my heart, in hopes we would fall off the same cliff together. 
No matter how much my idiotic heart wanted to love him, my head knew better. 
He didn’t choose me. 
He chose her. 
That’s where the problem started. 
Maybe that’s how it should end.


HOSTED BY:

Donna’s Review of Death & Dust by Skyla Madi

by Skyla Madi
Genres: Romantic Suspense

 

 

Title: Death & Dust
Series: New York Crime Kings #7
Author: Skyla Madi
Publisher: Limitless Publishing
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Release Date: March 20, 2018
Blurb
Jai Stone…
I met him in the shadows first. He was tall and broad-shouldered, a man
full of heat, passion, and unconditional love meant only for me. 
He was my perfect counterpart, my best friend, and the only spark of
light in an otherwise cold, dark hell.
But it was never meant to be.
Together, we fought hard in a war that sought only to destroy us, and
the casualties are worse than I ever imagined.  
Because of Skull…
I lost the closest thing I had to family.
Because of Skull…
I’ll never get the chance to atone for my mistakes. 
Because of Skull…
I was no longer Jai’s kitten.

 

Purchase Links
AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU
Free in Kindle Unlimited
Review

I need to begin by saying. I read these books in succession in the space of 4 days and that the only way for me to write the reviews are as a whole. It was like one huge book and I loved and lived every single second of it.

I started out very tentative, cautious and wondered where the story would lead, how they would survive and escape the nightmare that Jai had willing entered. But that Emily had stumbled across and been forced to enter. In the beginning, I hated Jai almost as much as Skull ( I will come back to him later) but my hatred turned to compassion over time. When I thought about his reasons and I know I would do the same for the family. He only did for Emily what he felt was right and I see that clearly now

Emily, Em/Kitten annoyed the life out of me at first, I thought she was weak and whinging. How wrong was I. That women was strong and had more balls then most men. She had no one and nowhere to call hers. No family, friends, nothing. And my heart broke for her often. And it completely broke me and I loved what she did as the books and stories continued. She sucked me in and made me feel so so much.

The characters that came and went through the pages, all contributed to making this story an epic one. One that will stay with me over time.  Skull the other main character was a funny character to hate. I know, its weird to say but I felt anger, yes of course I did but I also felt he was made from circumstance. Not of his doing and he was a broken human and his mind was lost. You can see that clearly throughout. So I had a hard time, hating all of him if that makes sense. Skull was a vile monster, he played that part well and that part I did hate with a passion.

Now I won’t spoil or ruin anything just know that this is a tragic tale. A crazy ride that will have your emotions all over the place. It isn’t a story for the faint of heart. There is death, destruction and a cold-hearted vengeance, that never stops. The kind that only death will end. There are no hearts and flowers. But there is love, friendship and family. And an undying need to protect. That’s what made this book for me. That family is what matters blood or not.

This series is a huge recommend for me. I really can’t say more than that it’s truly Epic!

Reviewed by Donna

 

Also Available
AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU
Free in Kindle Unlimited
AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU
Free in Kindle Unlimited
AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU
Free in Kindle Unlimited
Author Bio
SKYLA
MADI
 is an
International bestselling romance novelist from Brisbane, Australia.



Skyla
started her writing career fresh out of high school and at 24 she is a giver of
both real and fictional life.



She is an
aquarian, lover of the written word and author of the #1 BESTSELLING Consumed
trilogy.
Author Links

Robyn’s Review of Distorted Love by T.L. Smith

by T.L. Smith
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Title: Distorted Love
Duet: Dark Intentions #1
Author: T.L. Smith
Genre: Romance Suspense
Release Date: March 20, 2018
I loved him from the age of sixteen.

Hated him from the age of eighteen.

He disappeared at the age of nineteen.

We started off as enemies, then fast became lovers.

But our story isn’t a happily ever after.

It was a story of a king and a peasant. Can you guess which I was?

I knew we weren’t meant to be.

You see, he fell in love with her first. He loved me last.

I’m not someone’s second choice.

Not even for the boy who stole my heart.

I’m someone’s first.

Now, I just have to remember that.

The thing with TL Smith is that just when you think she can’t create a new insanely incredible story…she does! More brilliance from this amazingly talented author.

Saskia, the poor cousin of Livia, finds Ryken irresistible but so does Livia. Ryken is drawn to Saskia like a magnet but dates Livia. Confused? It is a confusing time for these teenagers but they are all strong-willed and determined to move forward.

You know I just wanted to really hate Ryken but I can’t! He really is a bad boy, however, a loveable one though. Saskia’s inner strength grows and pushes out to help her cope with life and the curveballs that are thrown at her. Livia although is not an easy character to like, she doesn’t exactly have it rosy all of the time but still…no I just plain don’t like her!

I think this author adds more twists and turns in the story than a corkscrew! BUT it works and works exceptionally well.

Great detailed descriptions once again give readers not only vivid imagery but also insight into the characters and what makes them tick. Having both lead characters take turns explains things from their points of view helps too. This is an incredibly fast paced book and although it is darker than your average tale, it’s super easy to read. I am so looking forward to the next book..yep it’s a cliffhanger but you know that from the start.

Reviewed by Robyn

 


 

 

 

Sinister Love (Dark Intentions Duet #2) 

 

Releasing April 24th

 

HOSTED BY:

Older posts

© 2018 She's a Lip Biter

Theme by Anders NorenUp ↑