She's a Lip Biter

Get ready for some Lip Biting

Archive (page 1 of 7)

Robyn’s Review of Cartel Queen by Chelsea Camaron

by Chelsea Camaron
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Title: Cartel Queen
Series: Almanza Duet #2
Author: Chelsea Camaron
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Release Date: April 19, 2018

 

 

 

Hardened.
Persistent.
I refuse to break at the hands of a man.
I am Mari Belle Dominguez.
Strong woman.
My situation made me his.
He’ll never really have me.
I’ll never let him hurt me again.
That is … until he claims more than my house, my body, and my life.
When Javier Almanza claims my heart, I’m no longer his cartel bitch.
No, I am the queen.
I thought she wasn’t ready for my world. I thought she needed my protection. I am Javier Almanza, kingpin with a woman who didn’t need a single thing from me, but my love.
The hardest fought wars are the biggest lessons learned. She was my lesson in forgiveness.
*You must read Cartel Bitch before Cartel Queen in order for this book to make sense. Thank you and happy reading. This is book two in the Almanza Crime Family Duet and a full-length romance. This is a dark, edge of your seat romantic suspense featuring an antihero so there is a level of violence inside that may not be suitable for some readers. This is not meant to be an actual depiction of life inside a Cartel but rather a work of fiction meant to entertain.

 


I eagerly awaited the second book in this duet and it was definitely worth the wait! Once again Chelsea Camaron has woven her magic with words by writing a vividly descriptive ending to this amazing story.

Mari and Javier were once a fairytale couple, once upon a time! Instead, as the author says so clearly, they “…were in this cyclone of hatred both of us broken, both of us beaten, and both of us defeated.”

Tears rolled down my cheeks at times, from the deep despair I felt. A pain that, although created by words, was so real. This was how emotive the language and scenes were and a very good indication of how the writing is so absorbing and brilliantly crafted.

Raw sexual passion that was hot, hot, hot! The chemistry between Javi and Mari is still sizzling and demanding however it isn’t something that takes over the storyline, it supports it.

There are twists and turns in the plot to change things up and keep readers on their toes, you never know what’s around the corner, which is exciting and entertaining. This fast-paced story is very easy to read, yes there is violence, darkness, the effects of drugs but it is all smoothly blended into the storyline. My only concern is that it is quite short so that’s why I gave it 4 1/2 stars and the only reason.

 Reviewed by Robyn

Chelsea Camaron is a small town Carolina girl with a big imagination. She is a wife and mom chasing her dreams. She writes contemporary romance, erotic suspense, and psychological thrillers. She loves to write blue-collar men who have real problems with a fictional twist. From mechanics to bikers to oil riggers to smokejumpers, bar owners, and beyond, she loves a strong hero who works hard and plays harder.



HOSTED BY:

Robyn’s Review of Surface by Anna Brooks

by Anna Brooks
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Title: Surface
Series: Guarding Her #1
Author: Anna Brooks
Genre: Romantic Suspense

Release Date: April 11, 2018


 

She was off limits. Too young. The boss’s daughter. Forbidden.

 


I knew it all along, but it didn’t change the absolute possession I felt when it came to her… nothing would change how I felt about her.

So I did what I had to; I waited until the time was right to make her mine, only to find out there is one thing that could ruin it all.

Anna Brooks is a new author to me and one I immediately liked, her writing style is easy and smooth flowing.

Paisley and Royce meet when she is about fourteen and she immediately crushes on him. With her father owning and running a large security company and Royce as his employee, Paisley fears she will never have her fantasy of a romance between them come true, especially as she is about seven years his junior.

There are great characters in this story, starting with Paisley and Royce who are both strong and honest people. I particularly enjoyed their honesty during their ‘talks’! Erik and Polly are protective and kind, the type of people who treat their employees more like family. A few interesting characters show possible future stories which is exciting. Brinley is a character that peaks your interest straight away and continues to hold it.

The book deals with quite a few sensitive issues like physical and mental abuse, guilt and death, all intricately woven into the storyline without the need for graphic details. The visuals are still loud and clear though.

Basically, this is a sweet love story but be warned there are a few curve balls thrown into the mix.

Reviewed by Robyn
Anna began writing when she thought the world would want to hear her sick lyrics through song. Since then, she’s realized her childhood dream wasn’t so far-fetched, just misguided. Now she writes romance with real emotions and happy endings. If Anna isn’t writing or reading, she can be found by a space heater painting her nails and drinking a ridiculous amount of Diet Dr Pepper. She also likes to hang out with her husband and two boys. If it wasn’t for them, she wouldn’t ever leave the house. Anna was born in Wisconsin but now lives in the Evergreen State.

HOSTED BY:

Cover Reveal: Sinister Love by T.L. Smith

by T.L. Smith
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Title: Sinister Love
Series: Dark Intentions Duet #2
Author: T.L. Smith
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Release Date: April 24, 2018
He was a drug I couldn’t kick. I’d overdosed on him before. It didn’t turn out well.
I was stupid enough to let him crack my heart, in hopes we would fall off the same cliff together. 
No matter how much my idiotic heart wanted to love him, my head knew better. 
He didn’t choose me. 
He chose her. 
That’s where the problem started. 
Maybe that’s how it should end.


HOSTED BY:

Donna’s Review of Death & Dust by Skyla Madi

by Skyla Madi
Genres: Romantic Suspense

 

 

Title: Death & Dust
Series: New York Crime Kings #7
Author: Skyla Madi
Publisher: Limitless Publishing
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Release Date: March 20, 2018
Blurb
Jai Stone…
I met him in the shadows first. He was tall and broad-shouldered, a man
full of heat, passion, and unconditional love meant only for me. 
He was my perfect counterpart, my best friend, and the only spark of
light in an otherwise cold, dark hell.
But it was never meant to be.
Together, we fought hard in a war that sought only to destroy us, and
the casualties are worse than I ever imagined.  
Because of Skull…
I lost the closest thing I had to family.
Because of Skull…
I’ll never get the chance to atone for my mistakes. 
Because of Skull…
I was no longer Jai’s kitten.

 

Purchase Links
AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU
Free in Kindle Unlimited
Review

I need to begin by saying. I read these books in succession in the space of 4 days and that the only way for me to write the reviews are as a whole. It was like one huge book and I loved and lived every single second of it.

I started out very tentative, cautious and wondered where the story would lead, how they would survive and escape the nightmare that Jai had willing entered. But that Emily had stumbled across and been forced to enter. In the beginning, I hated Jai almost as much as Skull ( I will come back to him later) but my hatred turned to compassion over time. When I thought about his reasons and I know I would do the same for the family. He only did for Emily what he felt was right and I see that clearly now

Emily, Em/Kitten annoyed the life out of me at first, I thought she was weak and whinging. How wrong was I. That women was strong and had more balls then most men. She had no one and nowhere to call hers. No family, friends, nothing. And my heart broke for her often. And it completely broke me and I loved what she did as the books and stories continued. She sucked me in and made me feel so so much.

The characters that came and went through the pages, all contributed to making this story an epic one. One that will stay with me over time.  Skull the other main character was a funny character to hate. I know, its weird to say but I felt anger, yes of course I did but I also felt he was made from circumstance. Not of his doing and he was a broken human and his mind was lost. You can see that clearly throughout. So I had a hard time, hating all of him if that makes sense. Skull was a vile monster, he played that part well and that part I did hate with a passion.

Now I won’t spoil or ruin anything just know that this is a tragic tale. A crazy ride that will have your emotions all over the place. It isn’t a story for the faint of heart. There is death, destruction and a cold-hearted vengeance, that never stops. The kind that only death will end. There are no hearts and flowers. But there is love, friendship and family. And an undying need to protect. That’s what made this book for me. That family is what matters blood or not.

This series is a huge recommend for me. I really can’t say more than that it’s truly Epic!

Reviewed by Donna

 

Also Available
AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU
Free in Kindle Unlimited
AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU
Free in Kindle Unlimited
AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU
Free in Kindle Unlimited
Author Bio
SKYLA
MADI
 is an
International bestselling romance novelist from Brisbane, Australia.



Skyla
started her writing career fresh out of high school and at 24 she is a giver of
both real and fictional life.



She is an
aquarian, lover of the written word and author of the #1 BESTSELLING Consumed
trilogy.
Author Links

Robyn’s Review of Distorted Love by T.L. Smith

by T.L. Smith
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Title: Distorted Love
Duet: Dark Intentions #1
Author: T.L. Smith
Genre: Romance Suspense
Release Date: March 20, 2018
I loved him from the age of sixteen.

Hated him from the age of eighteen.

He disappeared at the age of nineteen.

We started off as enemies, then fast became lovers.

But our story isn’t a happily ever after.

It was a story of a king and a peasant. Can you guess which I was?

I knew we weren’t meant to be.

You see, he fell in love with her first. He loved me last.

I’m not someone’s second choice.

Not even for the boy who stole my heart.

I’m someone’s first.

Now, I just have to remember that.

The thing with TL Smith is that just when you think she can’t create a new insanely incredible story…she does! More brilliance from this amazingly talented author.

Saskia, the poor cousin of Livia, finds Ryken irresistible but so does Livia. Ryken is drawn to Saskia like a magnet but dates Livia. Confused? It is a confusing time for these teenagers but they are all strong-willed and determined to move forward.

You know I just wanted to really hate Ryken but I can’t! He really is a bad boy, however, a loveable one though. Saskia’s inner strength grows and pushes out to help her cope with life and the curveballs that are thrown at her. Livia although is not an easy character to like, she doesn’t exactly have it rosy all of the time but still…no I just plain don’t like her!

I think this author adds more twists and turns in the story than a corkscrew! BUT it works and works exceptionally well.

Great detailed descriptions once again give readers not only vivid imagery but also insight into the characters and what makes them tick. Having both lead characters take turns explains things from their points of view helps too. This is an incredibly fast paced book and although it is darker than your average tale, it’s super easy to read. I am so looking forward to the next book..yep it’s a cliffhanger but you know that from the start.

Reviewed by Robyn

 


 

 

 

Sinister Love (Dark Intentions Duet #2) 

 

Releasing April 24th

 

HOSTED BY:

Robyn’s Review of Cartel Bitch by Chelsea Camaron

by Chelsea Camaron
Genres: Romantic Suspense

Titles: Cartel Bitch
Duet Title: Almanza Duet
Author: Chelsea Camaron

Release Date: March 15, 2018
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Cover Model: Mike LaCombe
Cover Photographer: Golden Czermak/Furious Fotog
Cover Designer: Cassy Roop of Pink Ink Designs

 

Unforgiving.

Relentless.

I’m to be feared.

When your family is as much a friend as an enemy, there is no one to trust.

I am Javier Almanza.

Cartel kingpin.

No one can touch me.

No one can hurt me.

Except her.

Mari Belle Dominguez.

My first experience with a book by this author is this first book in the Almanza Crime Family Duet. We are warned at the beginning that this is a dark read and not a sweet romance, which is very true!

Javier Almanza, cartel boss, has always been infatuated, or obsessed, with Mari Belle Dominguez, who is confident she will move on and be free of her life in Mexico. After Mari’s brother, Maricio, forces her to leave Mexico she is anything but free!

The story is told in two parts, the past and the present and by both lead characters sharing insight into why they do things and how they feel. Vivid descriptions give us clear images as the story unfolds. Her description of each character is just as clear. Maricio, with such a lovely name you’d think ‘good guy’ but life throws some curve balls.

Although the genre might be dark romance, it is still a romance with flaming hot passion too. It is also a fast paced, easy read making you want the second book now! (which I do!😉)

Reviewed by Robyn

“There are betrayals, lies and a story that you will definitely want more of.” – Michelle Shelly

“It is without doubt an absorbing story that grabs your attention from the very beginning.” – Robyn Corcoran

“OMG this book had me hooked from the get go!” – Amanda

Chelsea Camaron is a small town Carolina girl with a big imagination. She is a wife and mom chasing her dreams. She writes contemporary romance, erotic suspense, and psychological thrillers. She loves to write blue-collar men who have real problems with a fictional twist. From mechanics to bikers to oil riggers to smokejumpers, bar owners, and beyond, she loves a strong hero who works hard and plays harder.


HOSTED BY:

Nat’s Review of Possessive by Willow Winters

by Winter Willows
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Title: Possessive
Author: Willow Winters
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Release Date: March 13, 2018
Blurb

 

From USA Today bestselling author Willow Winters, comes a provocative, standalone, contemporary romance.
 
Some men are born with a black heart and a tainted soul. 

 

I never liked to admit it back then; I thought I could outrun who I am and lie
to myself.
But I accept the truth now.
It’s in my blood and in my bones. In every impure thought and desire.
I tried to leave. To do the right thing and walk away from my past.
But then she came back into my life.
Stumbling towards me and looking up at me as if I’m the one she’s been looking
for all this time.
As if I could be her savior and take her pain away.

 

If only she knew. 

 

She turns me into what I hate most about myself.
Selfish, ruthless, possessive.
I tried to be a good man. To be cold and distant and warn her away.
She should have taken the hint and run.
She didn’t…
And now she’s mine.

 


Purchase Links

AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU
B&N / KOBOiBOOKS

Review

What a beautifully written story of loss, love and family! Addison and Daniel have a fiery connection that is too hard for either of them to deny and they both have a past they would rather forget… Addison is lost drifting from place to place grieving the tragic loss of her high school boyfriend. Daniel is the bad boy she shouldn’t be attracted to, but their love is undeniable and their passion is off the charts steamy! This book will keep you glued to its pages until the very end, a love story like no other.

Reviewed by Nat

Author Bio

Willow Winters is so happy to be a USA Today, Wall Street Journal and #1 Contemporary Bestselling Romance Author. She likes her action hot and her bad boys hotter. She certainly doesn’t hold back on either one in her writing!Willow started writing after having her little girl, Evie, December 2015. All during her pregnancy with Evie she continued to read and she only wanted to read romance. She was reading a book a day — sometimes two.

In January 2016 Willow was staying up late with Evie and just thinking of all these stories. They came to her constantly so she finally sat down and just started writing. She always wanted to do it so she figured, why not? Today Willow cannot be happier for making that decision!

Robyn’s Review of The Last Resort Motel: Room 519 by S. Van Horne

by S. Van Horne
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Title: The Last Resort Motel: Room 519
Series: The Last Resort Motel
Author: S. Van Horne
Genre: Romance Suspense
Release Date: March 8, 2018

 

Jackson Stevens never thought he’d find love. Being a bounty hunter took up too much of his time. He knew finding a wife wasn’t in the cards for him, as long as he was on the road. Ending up in the middle of nowhere, at a motel that was a luxury compared to his vehicle, he encountered a woman that knocked him on his ass. Now, he’s in desperate need to finish the job, so he can capture the heart of the one who stole his.

Jennifer Lewis was on the run from her abusive ex-fiancé. A man who doesn’t seem to think their relationship is over. With only her most important possessions, she escapes in the middle of the night. Stranded in the Nevada desert when her car breaks down, she has no choice but to rent a room at the only motel in sight for miles. She never imagined the man she crashes into will be the one who makes her body heat like she’s never felt before.

Two worlds on a collision course of destiny. Will the love they’ve found save them from a destructive fate before its too late?

Visit The Last Resort Motel, your one stop for romance, mystery, suspense, and even the paranormal. 12 rooms. 12 authors. 12 unique stories.
 
S Van Horn is a new author to me and an exciting find, she really knows how to grab the reader’s attention from the beginning. This is a very engaging story.

The Last Resort Motel, your one-stop for romance, mystery, suspense, and even the paranormal… is how this series is described. I need to read the first two books, not because it has anything to do with this story but because I really enjoyed this short story.

Jackson is an ex-police officer who is now a bounty hunter. He meets up with Jennifer at the Last Resort Motel and they feel the chemistry between them immediately!

This is a fast-paced, easy to read book that really does have romance, mystery and suspense. Having both lead characters take turns telling the story from their points of view is insightful.

Reviewed by Robyn

12 rooms. 12 authors. 12 unique stories.

January – Gwyn McNamee – Room 1 – Available NOW
February – Crystal Perkins – Room 10 – Available NOW
March – S Van Horne – Room 519 – Available NOW
April – Dee Kelly – Room 13
May – B.T. Clearwater – Room 58 
June – M.C. Webb – Room 212
July – Megan Matthews – Room 29
August – Elizabeth Otto – Room 100 
September – Ann Mayburn – Room 419 
October – Geri Glenn – Room 666
November – Winter Travers – Room 19
December – Betty Shreffler – Room 15

 


S. Van Horne was born and raised in the small town of Belton, Missouri, which is a part of the Kansas City metropolitan area. She’s from a very large family and is the oldest of six. Growing up, she didn’t have the easiest life. She learned quickly that family means everything, even if it’s the type that you get to pick for yourself.

She met the love of her life at the early age of twenty and was married just after nine months of meeting him. Shortly after marriage, her husband rejoined the U.S. Navy and they moved from Kansas City and started their journey together. Currently they have two amazing children, a boy and a girl, and are still enjoying the Navy life.

She spends her days being a wife, mom, reading books, writing her latest novel, watching her beloved Kansas City Chiefs or Kansas City Royals, watching movies, hanging out with family and friends and having girls’ day at least once a month.

HOSTED BY:

Cover Reveal: Distorted Love by T.L. Smith

by T.L. Smith
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Title: Distorted Love
Duet: Dark Intentions #1
Author: T.L. Smith
Genre: Romance Suspense
Release Date: March 20, 2018
Release Alert

 

I loved him from the age of sixteen.
Hated him from the age of eighteen.
He disappeared at the age of nineteen.
We started off as enemies, then fast became lovers.
But our story isn’t a happily ever after.
It was a story of a king and a peasant. Can you guess which I was?
I knew we weren’t meant to be.
You see, he fell in love with her first. He loved me last.
I’m not someone’s second choice.
Not even for the boy who stole my heart.
I’m someone’s first.
Now, I just have to remember that.

 


HOSTED BY:

Nat’s Review of Hail Mary by Lani Lynn Vale

by Lani Lynn Vale
Genres: Romantic Suspense

Today we have the release blitz for HAIL MARY by Lani Lynn Vale. This is the next standalone installment of The Hail Raisers Series! Check it out and grab your copy today.

Title: HAIL MARY
Author: Lani Lynn Vale
Series: Hail Raisers
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Release: February 9th
Photographer: Furiousfotog
Cover Model: Quinn Biddle

Synopsis

Mary Persephone Hail
Mary—well-wished-for child.
Persephone—destruction.

Hail—well that speaks for itself.

Her name is painful to think about. Mary, his newfound daughter, isn’t a wished-for child. Persephone, though? Yeah, destruction is a fitting description. And Hail? Yeah, that’s just the final f-you.

The moment that her mother drops her off on his doorstep, Dante’s hell becomes complete.
Or so he thinks.

What can make life worse after losing one’s wife and kids, you ask? Here’s what: being given a baby that depends on him for her survival. Finding out that the baby’s mother is dying of brain cancer, and has a husband that he never knew about. A husband that Dante knows in the marrow of his bones is trying to kill her just as surely as the cancer eating her brain.

Dante’s a bad person. He’s done some not so nice things, and now he’s being punished for his misdeeds. Karma is finally catching up to him.

This child that he’s been stuck with is of his flesh and bone. This child is his salvation. This child is the final nail in the coffin of his wife and daughters’ too short lives.

He doesn’t want this child.

But this child will save him whether he wants her to or not.

With the help of a friend—yes, a woman friend—Dante finds his way back to life. But what he finds when he gets back isn’t the same life that he left behind. Turns out, he has to start living a new one. One where he’s suddenly having feelings for a friend that helped him get through some tough times, and loving a daughter that won’t let him quit.

Get Your Copy Now

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | Amazon CA
iBooks | Nook | Kobo

Add to Goodreads

Review

A heart wrenching but heart warming story of family, love, loss, and a little lady named Mary. Dante is a man whose whole world collapsed when his wife and children were tragically killed in a car accident two years previously.. he cut himself off from everyone until the day Mary comes into his life and teaches him how to feel again. Cobie is a lady who comes into his world like a whirlwind he wasn’t expecting, but he was there for her at her weakest and their connection grew from friend to something more which caught them both off-guard. This book will capture your heart and imagination, you will be on the edge of your seat until the very last page as this story has so many twists and turns, highly recommend another great Hail Raiser novel.

Reviewed by Nat

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Check Out the Rest of the Series

Amazon | iBooks | Nook | Kobo

Amazon | iBooks | Nook | Kobo

Amazon | iBooks | Nook | Kobo

Amazon | iBooks | Nook | Kobo

Amazon | iBooks | Nook | Kobo

About Lani Lynn Vale

Lani Lynn Vale is a USA Today Bestselling Author of over thirty titles. She is married with three children, two dogs, two cats, a donkey, and a couple (a couple also meaning over twenty) chickens.
When she’s not writing, you can find her curled up in her favorite chair reading.
Lani is married with three children, and lives in the Great State of Texas.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Goodreads | BookBub

Older posts

© 2018 She's a Lip Biter

Theme by Anders NorenUp ↑