She's a Lip Biter

Get ready for some Lip Biting

Archive

Our Reviews of Tulsa by S.L. Scott

by S.L. Scott

Title: Tulsa
Author: S.L. Scott
Genre: Standalone Contemporary Romance
~FREE in Kindle Unlimited~

Amazon US: http://bit.ly/TulsaUS
Amazon UK: http://bit.ly/TulsaUK
Amazon AUS: http://bit.ly/TulsaAmAus
Amazon Can: http://bit.ly/TulsaAmCan

 

SYNOPSIS

From New York Times Bestselling Author, S.L. Scott, comes a hot new rock star romance that will sweep you off your feet and leave you with a smile.

The rumors are true. At least where I’m concerned.

Drummers hit it harder and do it better.

Women love me and I love them. But I like to think of myself as a sensitive soul trapped in a lady-killer’s body. Not so surprisingly, I’ve been called cocky a time or two. What can I say? We can’t all be boy scouts.

Nikki Faris has thrown off my rhythm. With her red lips, smart aleck mouth, short skirts, long legs, and blue-sky eyes, the beautiful lead singer has become a complete distraction on this tour.

She loves to give me a hard time when all I want to do is give her the pleasure of my hard—time right back.

Tulsa Crow can save his pick up lines, great eight-pack abs, and cute dimples to use on someone else. My band earned their spot on The Resistance’s tour just like The Crow Brothers. I’m not going to blow it getting sidetracked by a cocky rock star that wants to sleep his way through the states. I’ve been called a name or two, but easy isn’t one of them.

But the best intentions with him turn into a walk of shame for me. Only, I don’t feel shame. Instead, I’m doing the very thing I said I wouldn’t—falling for a playboy.

We make sinful music when we’re on the road, but what happens to our melody when the tour ends?

 

Title: Tulsa

Author: S.L. Scott

Genre: Standalone Contemporary Romance

Release Date: May 3, 2018

Cover Design: RBA Designs

Goodreads: http://bit.ly/TulsaGR

REVIEW

I absolutely loved this book, it’s a rockstar book but not a millionaire rockstar book. Its again about the Crow Brothers rising to fame and the subsequent love that each brother finds. This book is mainly about Tulsa but you see a continuation of Jet’s life and family, as well as a peak of what’s to come for Rivers.

This book is a beautiful read and a story of a love that grows fast but also about finding that right person. About going with your heart and letting it make the right decision for you. Tulsa and Nikki are amazing. Nikki isn’t perfect she has her flaws and demons but Tulsa loves more than what can be seen. He loves more than skin deep, he loves the unseen and the broken parts.

There are a lot of secrets in this book but as they all unravel the story takes shape and you are carried away with it and the music that these bands make. I really recommend this series and I can’t wait for Rivers book.

Reviewed by Donna

Wow is all I can say!! This book had everything… a hot alpha rock star Tulsa Crow who goes from playboy/manwhore to totally enamoured with the lead singer/musician from their tour! This was a story of finding the ONE in a place where you don’t expect, but that one makes you a better version of yourself, this was the love that was Tulsa and Nikki. Their chemistry was off the charts HOT, they sizzled on and off the stage… This was also a story of family and the bond between the Crow brothers was stronger than ever even when tested by a ghost from the past. A fabulous rockstar read my first from SL Scott but it definitely won’t be my last.

Reviewed by Nat

 

 

EXCERPT

Nikki Faris is amazing.

Not only is she gorgeous, she’s also smart and strong. She says what she thinks, not worried about sharing her opinions or anyone judging her for them. She can defend the craziest ideas and has theories on everything from what she thinks jackfruit tastes like to why the stars always shine on the darkest nights.

Nikki Faris is mesmerizing.

Her lips.

Her eyes.

The way her head tilts back when she laughs at her own jokes. She’s adorably funny. Even the way she rolls her eyes is growing on me.

Nikki Faris is the sexiest woman I’ve ever spent time with, and I haven’t even slept with her.

Yet.

Her denim skirt rides up really fucking high when she’s sitting. I don’t know whether I should cover her or encourage her to wiggle more. Every time she moves around on that barstool, my eyes dash between her blues and those bare legs. I’m so tempted to run my hand over the smooth skin of her thigh, but I resist because I’m just starting to earn her trust.

But then she leans over, resting her hand on my leg, the tips of her fingers dipping toward my cock, waking it up, and whispers, “I think you got me drunk, Crow.”

Chuckling, I reply, “You got yourself drunk, Faris.”

Suddenly, her free hand wanders into my hair. “Your hair is soft. No gel.” She drags the bridge of her nose along my neck, causing my dick to harden. “You smell so good. So manly. What cologne do you wear?”

“Soap and sweat, sweetheart.”

“Tulsa. Tulsa. Tulsa.” Leaning back to look me in the eyes, she confesses, “It shouldn’t, but that really turns me on.”

I laugh again and stop her hand from wandering higher on my leg. “You’re a horny drunk.”

“I am,” she replies, resting her head on my shoulder. “Have you ever heard the phrase sleeping with the enemy?”

“I have.” I touch her, not able to stop myself as I tuck those wild strands of hair behind her ear.

The bartender sets the tab down in front of me. Nikki reaches for it, but I grab it first. “My treat.”

“I have a feeling I’m going to be swearing your name in the morning.”

I do a double take. “You mean because of the alcohol, right?” While waiting for her to answer a question I already know the answer to, images of her swearing my name for other reasons cross my mind.

She doesn’t answer, which is probably best.

About The Author

Living in the capital of Texas with her family, Scott loves traveling and avocados, beaches, and cooking with her kids. She’s obsessed with epic romances and loves a good plot twist. Her favorite color is blue, but she likens it more toward the sky than the emotion. Her home is filled with the welcoming symbol of the pineapple and finds surfing a challenge though she likes to think she’s a pro.

AUTHOR LINKS

Website: http://www.slscottauthor.com/
The Scott Scoop: http://bit.ly/2TheScoop
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/s.l.scott/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/slscottauthor
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/slscottpage
Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/slscott1
Bookbub: http://bit.ly/SLBookbub
Amazon: http://bit.ly/SLScottAm
Book + Main Bites: https://bookandmainbites.com/slscott
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/Slscottauthor
S.L. Scott FB Reader Group: http://www.facebook.com/groups/slscottbooks
S.L. Scott GR Reader Group: http://bit.ly/SLScottGRGroup

Spark by S.L. Scott

by S.L. Scott
Genres: Contemporary Romance

Title: Spark
Author: S.L. Scott
Genre: Standalone Contemporary Romance

~FREE in Kindle Unlimited~

Amazon US:
Amazon Canada:
Amazon Australia:
Amazon UK:

 

SYNOPSIS

One break is all The Crow Brothers need and we’re about to get it.

Johnny Outlaw, rock legend and lead singer of The Resistance, is here to watch us play. But he’s not the only familiar face in the crowd—killer little body, heart-shaped face, and drop-dead gorgeous.

Hannah Nichols sitting at the bar makes it hard to concentrate, sparks already reigniting. The beauty was never a groupie and tonight she’s not here to catch our show. She came to drop a bomb. “You have a son.”

She underestimated me. I’ll prove to my son, and her, that I can be the dad he needs.

What is it about musicians? Why are they so damn sexy?

My heart was Jet Crow’s the moment he opened his sexy mouth and sang that first song. One stolen night with that man would never be enough, but I’m not here to fall into his bed. Again. I’m here to fight for custody of a son he’s never known.

There’s just one problem. Those sparks between us have become flames. If we’re not careful we’re both going to get burned.

 

 

 

 

Title: Spark
Author: S.L. Scott
Genre: Standalone Contemporary Romance
Release Date: February 22, 2018
Cover Design: RBA Designs

Goodreads: http://bit.ly/SparkGR

 

 

 

 

SPARK EXCERPT

Prologue

 

Jet Crow

Subtle scents of cinnamon mix with the taste of whiskey on her skin. I lick her from collarbone to the back of her ear, her moans enticing me to take more than a gentle share of what I want.

I’m well past hooking up with groupies, but something drew me to the beautiful brunette. Under the bright spotlight of that stage, my eyes found hers as I sang about finding the missing piece of me. Maybe it was the way she pretended to not care, catching my eyes and then turning away as if she was too shy to come speak to me, but too good to be bothered. It didn’t matter. I was already caught up in her as much as she was caught up in me.

The set ended and I made my way over to the mystery woman, the one who hid in the dark of the bar just as two shots were served. I took the shot of Fireball and then took her home shortly after.

Fuck. She feels good.

Hard little body, but soft in all the right places. Tits that fill my large hands and legs that spread enough for me to squeeze between her thighs. I bet she wouldn’t reach my shoulders in heels. Speaking of, “Keep them on.”

I like the feel of the leather against my lower back, the hard heel scraping across my skin when she tries to power play me by tightening around my waist and pulling me closer. I didn’t ask her to my bedroom. I didn’t have a chance. What started out as laughing while we shared a two a.m. snack of Cheetos, hummus, and whiskey turned into me eating her as a snack on top of my kitchen counter. I don’t ever do that with a one-nighter, but damn if she didn’t make me want to break more rules with her.

She kisses me like a woman in need of water, taking as much as she wants while pressing her heels into my ass. The heat between us emanates until I’m dragging my shirt off to try to cool down.

I knew she was different the moment she opened her mouth back at the bar. “You sing rock with so much soul. Who hurt you?”

“No one gets close enough to do me any harm.”

“That’s a pity.”

“It’s a pity I’ve never been hurt?”

“No, it’s a pity you’ve never loved anyone enough to get hurt.”

My heart started beating for what felt like the first time as I looked into her sultry eyes. I could blame the booze, but I can’t lie to myself. She had me thinking twice on things I never considered once before.

Who was this woman?

Even with our stomachs full, we weren’t satisfied. She dragged me by the belt down the hall to my bedroom. Her clothes were off and mine quickly followed before we tumbled into bed.

Fast. I want to fuck her fast and hard, but every time our eyes connect there’s such sadness found in her grays that I slow down. Wanting her to hold contact, I cup her cheek. “Hannah?”

Her eyes slowly open, the long lashes framing the lust I find between them. “What?” she asks between heavy breaths.

“Are you okay?”

“I’m good.”

“Just making sure.”

She runs her hands up my neck and into the back of my hair. “I’m sure.” Pulling me down to her, our mouths are just a few inches apart when she whispers, “I want you. I want to do this.”

Shy isn’t something I’d call her considering we were in my bed two hours after meeting. I like a woman who knows what she wants. Hannah knows. And fuck if it isn’t a turn on that she wants me.

 

About The Author:

Living in the capital of Texas with her family, Scott loves traveling and avocados, beaches, and cooking with her kids. She’s obsessed with epic romances and loves a good plot twist. Her favorite color is blue, but she likens it more toward the sky than the emotion. Her home is filled with the welcoming symbol of the pineapple and finds surfing a challenge though she likes to think she’s a pro.

AUTHOR LINKS

Website: http://www.slscottauthor.com/
The Scott Scoop: http://bit.ly/2TheScoop
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/slscottpage
Twitter: https://twitter.com/slscottauthor
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/s.l.scott/
Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/slscott1
Bookbub: http://bit.ly/SLBookbub
Amazon: http://bit.ly/SLScottAm
Book + Main Bites: https://bookandmainbites.com/slscott
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/Slscottauthor
Huffington Post Contributor Page: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/sl-scott/
S.L. Scott FB Reader Group: http://www.facebook.com/groups/slscottbooks
S.L. Scott GR Reader Group: http://bit.ly/SLScottGRGroup

Cover Reveal: Spark by S.L. Scott

by S.L. Scott
Genres: Contemporary Romance

 

Title: SPARK
Author: S.L. Scott
Genre: Standalone Contemporary Romance
Release Date: February 22, 2018
Cover Design: RBA Designs
Goodreads: http://bit.ly/SparkGR

 

 

Synopsis

One break is all The Crow Brothers need and we’re about to get it.

Johnny Outlaw, rock legend and lead singer of The Resistance, is here to watch us play. But he’s not the only familiar face in the crowd—killer little body, heart-shaped face, and drop-dead gorgeous.

Hannah Nichols sitting at the bar makes it hard to concentrate, sparks already reigniting. The beauty was never a groupie and tonight she’s not here to catch our show. She came to drop a bomb. “You have a son.”

She underestimated me. I’ll prove to my son, and her, that I can be the dad he needs.

What is it about musicians? Why are they so damn sexy?

My heart was Jet Crow’s the moment he opened his sexy mouth and sang that first song. One stolen night with that man would never be enough, but I’m not here to fall into his bed. Again. I’m here to fight for custody of a son he’s never known.

There’s just one problem. Those sparks between us have become flames. If we’re not careful we’re both going to get burned.

 

 

ABOUT S.L. SCOTT

Living in the capital of Texas with her family, Scott loves traveling and avocados, beaches, and cooking with her kids. She’s obsessed with epic romances and loves a good plot twist. Her favorite color is blue, but she likens it more toward the sky than the emotion. Her home is filled with the welcoming symbol of the pineapple and finds surfing a challenge though she likes to think she’s a pro.

AUTHOR LINKS
Website: http://www.slscottauthor.com/
The Scott Scoop: http://bit.ly/2TheScoop
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/slscottpage
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/s.l.scott/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/slscottauthor
Bookbub: http://bit.ly/SLBookbub
Amazon: http://bit.ly/SLScottAm
Book + Main Bites: https://bookandmainbites.com/slscott
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/Slscottauthor
S.L. Scott FB Reader Group: http://www.facebook.com/groups/slscottbooks
S.L. Scott GR Reader Group: http://bit.ly/SLScottGRGroup
Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/slscott1
Huffington Post Contributor Page: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/sl-scott/

Donna’s Review of Savior by S.L. Scott

by S.L. Scott
Genres: Romantic Suspense

 

Title: Savior
Series: The Kingwood Series #2
Author: S.L. Scott
Genre: Romantic Suspense/Mystery
Release Date: August 13, 2017

 

Blurb

 

Everything is not as it seems.
Alexander IV has succeeded to the throne of the billion-dollar Kingwood Empire, but the people he thought he could trust aren’t allies.
They’re enemies.
Everyone he cares about is at risk.
Decisions–SACRIFICES–must be made.
What will he do to protect the people he loves? Will Sara Jane live or die?
Find out NOW in this EPIC conclusion to the bestselling The Kingwood Duet. Savage, book 1 in the series, should be read first and is LIVE on Amazon.

 

Purchase Links

AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU

Free in Kindle Unlimited

Review

Wow!!! What a conclusion to this fantastic duet. After the end of Savage and its utterly gut wrenching Cliffhanger. I was left with so many unanswered questions. I found them through this book and it made the story an epic one for me. This duet is just amazing.

The characters, their journey and battles are gripping and made me love Alexander and Sara-Jane even more. This book holds lots of secrets that will unravel and reveal themselves throughout the story and it’s a hell of a ride that makes for a gripping and intense read. That’s about all I can say on the matter as this needs to be experienced first hand.

This book and duet is a huge recommend from me. One that will stay with you for some time to come. Bravo to S.L Scott for this epic tale.

Reviewed by Donna

 

Excerpt

 
I sit outside on a bench, looking at the scuffs on the tips of my black leather shoes. The bottoms are worn from wearing them while riding my bike. It was the only sign that set me apart from the other rich kids where I grew up. Other than Cruise, no one rode motorcycles or had dealt with anything worse than getting a warning after getting busted for smoking, skipping school, sneaking out, smoking weed, getting drunk, or driving over the speed limit. The list could go on.
 
I have a car. I just don’t drive it much, preferring the freedom I feel on my bike. It wasn’t just my clothes or the bike that set me a part. None of them had lived, breathed, existed simply because their soul mate did. Not even now.
 
From the moment I saw her, I knew Sara Jane was it for me, an angel in a Catholic school uniform, eating a candy bar. She couldn’t have been more innocent. Except she was. The girl had barely been kissed. It’s like she had been waiting to meet me, as if she had saved herself for me. How a girl who looked that good and smelled even sweeter remained untouched for so long was beyond me.
 
I would have loved her no matter what. She could have been a prostitute, and I would have only seen her halo. I was a ship navigating a stormy sea, but she called me to her lighthouse, a beacon shining in the dark. It was never about her innocence, or the sins I had inherited. The day I met Sara Jane was about two lives that weren’t meant for only one lifetime, but destined to be together forever.
 
Maybe that’s what had given me the confidence to break away from the kids I grew up with. I knew I was meant for something bigger than a life of partying and getting high socially.
 
I was meant for Sara Jane, and she for me.

Also Available

AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU

Free in Kindle Unlimited

Join the Savage
Facebook Spoiler Group

 

Author Bio

 

 

Living in the capital of Texas with her family, Scott loves traveling and avocados, beaches, and cooking with her kids. She’s obsessed with epic romances and loves a good plot twist. Her favorite color is blue, but she likens it more toward the sky than the emotion. Her home is filled with the welcoming symbol of the pineapple and finds surfing a challenge though she likes to think she’s a pro.
Author Links

Donna’s Review of Savage by S.L. Scott

by S.L. Scott
Genres: Romantic Suspense

 

 

Title: Savage
Series: The Kingwood Series #1
Author: S.L. Scott
Genre: Romantic Suspense/Mystery
Release Date: July 6, 2017

 

Blurb

 

From New York Times Bestselling Author, S.L. SCOTT, comes
this new and utterly captivating series, The Kingwood Series. With memorable
characters and an unforgettable story, you will want to be a part of this new
series launch. 

 

Welcome to
the mysterious world of the rich and the damned in this gritty, modern day
fairy tale. Two star-crossed lovers will either find their destiny or meet
their fate in a world where demons come in the form of familiar faces and pawns
aren’t just players, but deadly.
 

She was my destiny.

I was her downfall.
We were a match made in hell.
But when we were together, that hell was pure
heaven.
 
The moment I laid eyes on her, I knew she would
pay the price for my sins. I wasn’t much older than she was, but old enough to
know better. Old enough to know she would be good for me and I was bad for her.
But I pursued her anyway. Back then I had hope that maybe she could change my
future.
Maybe together we could change our fate . . .

 

Purchase Links

AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU

Free in Kindle Unlimited

Review

Where to begin with this review.

This is quite a hard review to write as I didn’t totally love this book. I liked it but only from about 50% on. I found it slow but as I have waited to write this review I can now see why it was written that way. The story had to build and although I did struggle. I can see that it was necessary.

Alexander and Sarah Jane were an instant connection and the story is heavy and full of what evolves into danger. I won’t say anymore as I feel spoilers are just horrible and unnecessary. I am sure that once all the dice have fallen and the story has been finished I will come back and change this review and my opinion no doubt will change too.

This book ends on a huge cliffhanger and by this time I was invested (insert swearing and screaming). The wait I am sure will be worth it. A great read in the end.

Reviewed by Donna

 

Coming Soon

Releasing August 14, 2017

 AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU

 

Author Bio

 

 

Living in the capital of Texas with her family, Scott loves traveling and avocados, beaches, and cooking with her kids. She’s obsessed with epic romances and loves a good plot twist. Her favorite color is blue, but she likens it more toward the sky than the emotion. Her home is filled with the welcoming symbol of the pineapple and finds surfing a challenge though she likes to think she’s a pro.
Author Links

New Release: Savage by S.L. Scott

by S.L. Scott
Genres: Romantic Suspense

 

 

Title: Savage
Series: The Kingwood Series #1
Author: S.L. Scott
Genre: Romantic Suspense/Mystery
Release Date: July 6, 2017

 

Blurb

 

From New York Times Bestselling Author, S.L. SCOTT, comes
this new and utterly captivating series, The Kingwood Series. With memorable
characters and an unforgettable story, you will want to be a part of this new
series launch. 

 

Welcome to
the mysterious world of the rich and the damned in this gritty, modern day
fairy tale. Two star-crossed lovers will either find their destiny or meet
their fate in a world where demons come in the form of familiar faces and pawns
aren’t just players, but deadly.
 

She was my destiny.

I was her downfall.
We were a match made in hell.
But when we were together, that hell was pure
heaven.
 
The moment I laid eyes on her, I knew she would
pay the price for my sins. I wasn’t much older than she was, but old enough to
know better. Old enough to know she would be good for me and I was bad for her.
But I pursued her anyway. Back then I had hope that maybe she could change my
future.
Maybe together we could change our fate . . .

 

Purchase Links

99c for a limited time only

AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU

Free in Kindle Unlimited

Coming Soon

Releasing August 14, 2017

 AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU

 

Author Bio

 

 

Living in the capital of Texas with her family, Scott loves traveling and avocados, beaches, and cooking with her kids. She’s obsessed with epic romances and loves a good plot twist. Her favorite color is blue, but she likens it more toward the sky than the emotion. Her home is filled with the welcoming symbol of the pineapple and finds surfing a challenge though she likes to think she’s a pro.
Author Links

Donna’s 5★ Review of The Rebellion by S.L. Scott

by S.L. Scott
Genres: Contemporary Romance

 

Title: The Rebellion
Series: Hard to Resist #5
Author: S.L. Scott
Genre: STANDALONE Contemporary Romance
Release Date: May 18, 2017

 

Blurb

 

I met my muse at fifteen. I’d just gotten busted
for smoking behind the school gymnasium. She inspired me with her laugh and
nonjudgmental attitude and, before I knew it, we were inseparable. Then I left
to pursue my rock star dreams—dreams she encouraged.
I got over Jaymes Grenier no problem. I never
think about that little bow at the top of her pink lips, or the way her green
eyes admired mine. Nope, I barely recall the way she fit so perfectly in my
arms when I held her at night. The sweet way she would whisper she loved me has
long faded from memory.
These are the lies I regularly tell myself
in hopes of believing them one day. Yeah, I was told I’d get over my first
love.
I didn’t. 
Derrick Masters marked me the moment we met back
in ninth grade. He called me over—all bravado and bad boy mystery wrapped in a
James Dean-esque package. Dark hair and blue eyes with a rebel without a cause
charisma. He was everything I was warned about, but I couldn’t resist. I
was his from that moment on.
His career took off almost as soon as he
did. I knew it would. I just thought I would be beside him as his partner in
crime, best friend, and lover. That’s what we had always been … before he left
me behind to fend for myself.

Fend? Fight is more like it.
I’ve been fighting ever since. 
Fighting for survival.
Fighting for a better life in a world determined
to keep me down.
I don’t have the luxury of letting my head live
in the lure of La La Land. His dreams may have come true, but mine were
extinguished. These days I fight for something bigger than me, bigger than we
were ever meant to be.
When his dreams come crashing back into my
reality, is this a second chance at that fairy tale ending or another
heartbreak in the making?

Purchase Links

AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU

Free in Kindle Unlimited

Trailer

Review

Omg!!! I just loved this book, I stayed awake till 3am reading it. I just couldn’t put it down. It’s one of those books that gives you all the feels, emotion and angst. It’s my kind of book that picks you up and completely carries you away. Sometimes fairy tales do come true, well eventually anyway and this is one of those times.

Derrick and Jaymes were childhood sweethearts and sometimes you have to let people go for them to have a chance or even just to escape, this is exactly what Jaymes did for Derrick. It was at her own sacrifice and torment, but she suffered in silence and alone. Until he came back into her life. As a rockstar that she always knew he would become.

This book is a great book, that I can honestly say I love and devoured. I wish I could erase my memory and read it all again. This is a huge recommendation from me, I just love this author and absolutely love a Rockstar, well who wouldn’t.

Reviewed by Donna

 

Excerpt

On the front porch, leaning against the wood column in all
his newfound glory, stands the most breathtaking man I’ve ever seen. As a
teenager, I thought he was the best-looking boy I’d ever seen,
and based on how I’m struggling to breathe just from looking at him now, I
think he still holds the title. But now he’s a man.
Ace is talking about what some kid named Shiloh got in
trouble for today at school, but I’m still staring at Derrick Masters.
Derrick Masters.
My very own Perseus, though right now I’m thinking he was
more my Achilles heel in the grand scheme of things.
Derrick Masters is standing on my mother’s front porch like
he belongs there. A smile that shines like the star he’s become appears and he
waves. Not sure if it was the grin on his face or the wave that sends me
tripping flat on my face into the grassy lawn, but I’m cursing the curb when I
lift up and look right into the dark blue eyes I’ve tried to despise.
“Are you okay?” he asks, trying to help me up. His voice is
deep, the timbre the same one that always made my heart beat a little faster.
It’s not that thought that runs through my mind. It’s his hands on me,
grappling to help me to my feet.
He’s touching me.
Derrick Masters is touching me and I consider lying there
longer just to savor the feel of his calloused fingers again. Ace tugs at my
ankle like that will help me up. “Mommy, you fell.”
Mommy.
Mommy.
Derrick knows I’m a mommy.
Oh my God. What does he think?
Does he hate me? Disappointed in me? Happy for me? Or not
care at all?
I would care if I found out he has kids.
Maybe he already knew . . .
Maybe I’ll just lie here as long as I can until he goes
away.
Ace lies down next to me and rests his face on my hand.
Looking at me with wide eyes, he asks, “Are we playing a game? This is fun.”
“Yes, I quite like it here.”
I hear Derrick chuckling just above me, enough to feel his
warmth covering my body like sunshine as I lie in the cool grass. I might be
mistaken but it sounds like he’s behind me now. On the ground with me.
Ace’s eyes look over my head. “My friend is here too.” He
giggles. “See? Right there.”
Lying like a dead fish, I smile at my cute son not quite
ready to face Derrick Masters. “What’s your new friend’s name?”
“Derrick. He plays a guitar like you, Mommy.”
After a tap on the back, Ace’s new friend speaks, “Hi.”
I miss Derrick’s hands on me, even if it was just helping me
up. Ace is a ball of laughter and gets up. I watch until he runs behind me.
“I’m here now. We’re all here. This is fun. Oh look, the moon.”
I can’t avoid him forever and the grass is grounding,
literally, and settles my anxiety over just this kind of thing happening. I’ve
embarrassed myself and he’s found out I’m a mother in the course of one sexy
smile and a wave. I shake my head and close my eyes annoyed with myself for
acting so foolishly in front of him. He was once my everything. When
I roll onto my back, the top of our hands meet in an innocent touch that
neither of us bothers to retreat. Finally building enough nerve, I turn my head
and look straight into his eyes again. “Hi,” I whisper.
That devastatingly charming smile reappears, and he says,
“It’s good to see you, Jaymes.”

Also Available

AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU

Free in Kindle Unlimited

Author Bio

 

 

Living in the capital of Texas with her family, Scott loves traveling and avocados, beaches, and cooking with her kids. She’s obsessed with epic romances and loves a good plot twist. Her favorite color is blue, but she likens it more toward the sky than the emotion. Her home is filled with the welcoming symbol of the pineapple and finds surfing a challenge though she likes to think she’s a pro.
Author Links

© 2018 She's a Lip Biter

Theme by Anders NorenUp ↑