She's a Lip Biter

Get ready for some Lip Biting

Archive (page 1 of 2)

Our 5 Stars Reviews of Down Beat by Max Henry

by Max Henry
Genres: Rockstar Romance

 

Title: Down Beat
Series: Dark Tide #1
Author: Max Henry
Genre: Contemporary/Rocker Romance
Release Date: May 18, 2018
Blurb
Some call him a rock god.
Others a celebrity bad boy.
Me? I call him the arrogant bastard who stole my concert venue.
His apology? To take me and my violin on tour with the band.
It’s an offer I can’t refuse, even if it does come with strings attached.
Because Rey Thomas isn’t who he seems.
Life isn’t pretty behind the deviant frontman’s facade.
It’s raw, ugly, and at times downright painful.
But it’s real.
And far better than the lie he presents to the world.
The man behind the face of Dark Tide is beautiful in his chaos.
All I have to do is keep him alive long enough to see that too.
Nobody ever said loving a rock star would be easy.

 

 

Purchase Links
99c for a limited time
AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU
Free in Kindle Unlimited

Playlist

 

Reviews

I really don’t know where to begin with this review. I don’t know how to express the feeling that it provoked and just how to put it all down on paper. But I need for people to realise what a fantastic thought-provoking book this is. Some say we all have our demons and we do but some of us have a disease that we can never escape from. One that plays with us in the worst ways, these diseases are ones that have more access to us than any other. Especially when it’s your own mind that you can’t escape from.

This is one of the hardest books I have read, an example that with the world at your feet, you still feel like you are nothing, mental illness has no preference, it sees no creed, colour or status. Rey is perfect example that no one is untouchable. Rey and Tabitha’s story is just beautiful, even with all the demons that run through these pages and try to ruin it.

This is a rock star book with a difference and I think Max Henry handle every word and situation with kindness, compassion and incredible knowledge. I don’t want to spoil this book at all and explain what happens as it needs to experience first hand. But the saying is true. If you love someone enough let them go, if they come back they are yours forever and that is what else I will take from this book.

This book is a huge recommendation from me but it’s not for the faint of heart or mind. This book covers some serious and painful things so be warned. Max Henry you have done yourself and those of us that suffer proudly. And maybe more than a few rock star who couldn’t face another day too.

Reviewed by Donna

Seriously Max Henry! Seriously!!!!
I haven’t had the chance to read any adult fiction books in some time, being swamped down with boring university books or children’s fiction so to say this book blew my mind and gave my love of reading back would have to be the BIGGEST understatement EVER!!!It gave me all the feels and took me on an adventure of the heart and mind and really had me engrossed in their story. The depth of character is amazing and the storyline is exceptional.

A MUST READ for 2018!!!

Reviewed by Cherie

It’s always a delight starting a new book by this author, although we are warned about some triggers- and yes they are there- the whole subject of mental illness is handled brilliantly.

Dark Tide is an up and coming band made up of Rey, the lead singer, Toby on drums, Emery the bassist and Kris who is a sensational guitar player. After a mix up they meet the sassy and determined violinist, Tabitha. Things start to become very interesting and moving.

There is a darkness in this story, how could there not be with mental illness? A darkness that is showcased very smoothly as well as harshly, a clever move by Max Henry. A darkness that is necessary for readers to understand not only the main character better and try to get a handle on what his life is like but also how it affects those around him. It clearly gave a depth of understanding that I have never experienced before, thank you.

Down Beat isn’t all dark as there are lighter times, I enjoyed the banter between the characters, especially with Tabitha being smart-mouthed towards Rey and vice versa.

I am so excited to know that Kris’ story will be next in the series, he is such an intriguing character and I can’t wait to get to know him better.

Reviewed by Robyn

 

Who doesn’t love a good rock star book! Well, this is a great rock star book and then some!! I was so blown away with the content and how Max dealt with a delicate and taboo subject in such a respectful way… she went no holes bared and showed mental illness in all it’s ugly glory! This story was a dark and beautiful love story about a man with demons and the lady who accepted him for who he was demons and all. Max has a real talent for thought-provoking stories… and this one was no different, you come away with a whole new level of understanding about how precious life really is!! Look out for your family and friends, ask questions and just be there xx

 

Reviewed by Nat

Excerpt
“You
started without us.” The dark-haired cocky bastard from before makes a show of
moving my road case so he can sit in the seat adjacent to mine.
The quiet
guy who offered to help me carry it heads for the counter, and is immediately assailed
by some desperate woman with a napkin.
“You’re
really something, huh?” I muse as I lift my coffee to take a sip.
“I like to
think so.” His gaze bores into mine despite the fact the horn bag with the
napkin is lining him up in her sights. “What kind of music do you play?”
“What do
you care?”
We enter
what appears to be a staring contest while he formulates his answer; piercing
eyes fix firmly on me as I hold my coffee to my chest. His black hair is spiked
haphazardly, yet a few loose tendrils across his face give him the mysterious
edge that I imagine his groupies love. The T-shirt he wears is torn,
fashionably so, and just enough that I can get a glimpse as the ink he hides
below.
I sip my
coffee with a smirk.
He leans
forward, the studded cuff on his left wrist making a soft clink as it hits the
timber surface.
“Ohmygod,”
the horn bag breathes in one rushed syllable as she arrives at my table. “I
can’t believe you’re in here.”
The cocky
asshole drags his gaze from me and smiles at her, laying on the charm. “Good
place to get a coffee, right?”
“The best,”
she gushes, oblivious to the intense standoff she interrupted.
I sit back
and sip my latte, sizing up the woman. She seems to be in her late twenties,
early thirties at most. What surprises me is that she’s dressed like a soccer
mom. Not exactly what I’d expect a fan of a man kitted out in denim, leather,
and enough chains to rival a prison warden to look like.
“Can you
sign this?”
“Kris leave
me any room?” He takes the napkin from her, brushing his fingers over hers.
The woman
damn near comes on the spot. Slick move,
asshole.
“I think
there’s a space up here.” And in one swift move, Soccer Mom transforms to
Desperate Housewife with the tilt of her hips. The blouse that mere seconds ago
demurely hid her assets now hangs like a slack sail in the Dead Sea, giving the
cocky asshole to my left the perfect view of her ample tits.
Shoot me if
I ever turn into one of those.
“Thanks.”
He takes the pen she offers and then scratches a quick message for her like he
probably has a million times before.
She leaves
with her smile a little wider, and her panties more than likely a darn sight
wetter.
“Excuse
me.” I pull my phone out, amused to find him frowning at me in my periphery.
“What are
you doing?” He leans closer to see my screen, wafting what has to be pure
pheromones under my nostrils. How the
fuck do they make men’s cologne so addictive?
“I’m
googling your name, since you won’t introduce yourself properly.”
He laughs,
the rich sound traveling throughout the shop as his bandmate, Kris, returns
with a table number.
“Shouldn’t
you have like a private coffee shop, or something?” I sass. “Don’t celebrities
like you get places shut down so they can drink in peace?” The result comes up
on my screen, along with an assortment of very hot performance shots. Damn, this man can rock studs.
“She’s
kidding right?” Kris mumbles to the cocky asshole.
“I don’t
think so.” He smiles at me, leaning back casually in his seat. “I can’t believe
you don’t know my name.” The jerk spreads his legs wide, a denim-clad knee
perilously close to my thigh.
“Do you
know every stranger you meet’s name?” I lift an eyebrow at him. “Rey?
“Babe, I’m
not a stranger.” Fucker still smiles. “I haven’t had to introduce myself for
the past four and half years.”
“Since we
first made Billboard,” Kris adds quietly.
I like him.
He’s not in-your-face like this jackass to my left. He’s quiet, humble even. He actually makes me want to hold a
conversation with him.
Rey, on the
other hand…. “You’re a little full of yourself, aren’t you?”
Kris smiles
behind his linked hands, elbows on the table.
“Would you prefer to be full of me?” Rey
wiggles a pierced eyebrow.
“You have
to be shitting me,” I mumble, looking away.
“You never
answered my question, Tabitha,” Rey
taunts. “Or can I call you Tabby, since you’re like a wild cat, all claws and
snarl?”
I almost
smile at his comment… almost.
“Tabitha.”
I look back at the guy, pissed at myself for recognizing that he is in fact
pretty damn good-looking. Bastard. “And
I play classical. A little bit of crossover.”
“Classical.”
Rey looks like he’s fit to burst. “People still listen to that?”
“They do.”
I give him a hard stare, and then shift focus to Kris. “In all honesty, I am
surprised you two don’t have security or some kind of protection if you’re that
shit hot.”
He lifts an
inked finger and points to a burly guy outside the shop. If I didn’t know
better, I’d think the man was Joe Public. He’s big, sure, but he’s dressed in
sweats and a T-shirt. No earpiece, no Secret Service-style shades. He just
looks… normal.
“I think
his name’s Pete,” Kris mumbles. “He turned up late. Hence why you got in.”
“You think his name is Pete?” I snort a
laugh.
“He’s not
our normal crew,” Rey fills in. “Hired while we’re in town.”
“Oh.”
Frustrated by how quickly the conversation has turned comfortable, I redirect
back to the issue at hand. “Can I ask why you’re at my table?”
“We need
coffee.” Rey shrugs.
“At my table, though?”
“Figured we
got off on the wrong foot.” He wrinkles his nose. It’s cute. No it’s not. Focus, Tab.
“Can’t
blame me for that.” I take a nonchalant sip of my coffee… and promptly choke on
a bubble of foam that gets stuck on the roof of my mouth near my throat. Slick.
“Can’t
blame us, either,” Rey retorts.
It’s okay, asshole. I don’t need a pat on the
back or anything. Just unable to breathe for a beat there, but you just take it
easy, okay?
“Rick
organized the whole thing,” he finishes, unfazed by the tears teetering on the
rims of my eyes.
“You okay?”
“Yeah,
Kris. I am now. Thanks.” I wipe the moisture away before I end up looking
bat-shit crazy with mascara down my face.
“Where you
from?”
“Pardon?” I
glare at Rey.
“Your
accent. You’re not American.”
I give the
muppet a slow clap.
His
nostrils flare when a few customers look across at our table. “Are you
Austral—”
I lift a
palm to stop him. “Don’t say it.”
“What?”
“Don’t you
dare assume I’m Australian. There’s more than one country down there, you
know.”
He stares
at me, blank. Fuck my life.
“Kris, help
him out here.” I down the last of my coffee.
“New
Zealand,” he murmurs to Rey.
“Oh.” His
face stays blank as a clean slate.
“You’ve
heard of it, right?” I ask.
“Of course
I have,” he scoffs.
“But you
didn’t know where it was.”
He smiles,
and damn it all if that doesn’t make me do so too. Stay strong. I can’t fawn over this guy like every other female on
the planet, not when my objective is to make his life hell. Not that I know how I’m going to do that
just yet.
“Geography
was never my thing,” he explains as Kendall brings their drinks over.
She sets
Rey’s down first, and then throws me a sneaky look behind his back before
setting Kris’s before him.
“Later,” I mouth while both boys are distracted adding
sugar.
She gives
me her don’t test me eye, and then
leaves.
“Well,” I
announce, pushing my empty cup to the middle of the table. “This has been
swell, guys, but I really must press on.”
I get
halfway to my feet before a strong hand to my thigh shunts me back in the
chair. Holy hell, that was intense.

 

“Sit.” Rey
stirs his coffee, eyes on the amber swirl. “I’m not finished with you yet.”

 

 

Author Bio
Born and bred in Canterbury, New Zealand, Max now resides
with her family in beautiful and sunny Queensland, Australia. 
Life with two young children can be hectic at times, and
although she may not write as often as she would like, Max wouldn’t change a
thing. 
In her down time, Max can be found at her local gym,
brain-storming through a session with the weights. If not, she’s probably out
drooling over one of many classic cars on show that she wishes she owned.
Author Links

Cover Reveal: Regret by Max Henry

by Max Henry

Release Date: February 28, 2018

Cover Design: Max Effect

Image Credit: MR. BIG Photography

Model: Marko Vukotic

 

Synopsis

 

Four simple rules when you’re a woman in denial:

1. Don’t stalk your father’s best friend online.
2. Don’t talk to him via Messenger.
3. Definitely don’t go to his house.
4. And whatever you do, don’t tell him you’re still in love.

I’ve never been one for doing what I’m told.

Goodreads

 

 

Excerpt

“When are you going to move on, Z?” She rests an arm casually on the side of the chair, relaxing her position. “How many women have you been with in the last three years?”

“Jodie,” I warn with a frown.

“I’m serious,” she says. “Okay, so you spent the first three or four months sulking after she left. But that leaves over two years where you could have been making the most of the fact you aren’t that old yet, and you’re still quite the catch.”

“This is fucking weird coming from you.” I cross my arms, hoping like fuck she’ll drop the topic.

“It’s necessary.” She leans forward to glare at me from under her lashes. “How many?”

“Two.”

“Jesus,” she whispers to herself, looking away. “Really?”

“Really.”

“Look. I know you won’t come out with us, but just consider it, okay? Maybe I can leave Eric at home with bubs one night and be your wingwoman?”

“Fuck me,” I groan. “How about you hand me a shovel and help me dig my grave.” She frowns, clearly confused. “I’d rather stay at home spanking one out than go to the bar with my ex-wife to find a fuck for the night.”

Jodie’s lips flatten in a thin line as she snorts in an effort to suppress her laugh. “I guess when you put it like that.”

The two of us chuckle at the visual. It feels good to laugh. Unwelcome, but good.

“At least I got to you to loosen up,” she says with a smile. “I worry about you, Z. You’re pretty dark a lot of the time now.”

My smile fades, and I turn back to the window. “Happens when the sunshine gets ripped from your life.”

 

Available Now

 

 

Desire (Twisted Hearts Duet-Book 1)

 

Amazon US ~ http://amzn.to/2DvvxCH

Amazon UK ~ http://amzn.to/2DGdZXJ

Amazon CA ~ http://amzn.to/2F5OU5s

Amazon AU ~ http://amzn.to/2n6gyrL

 

Giveaway

One of Five ARC’s for Regret

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Direct Link: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/b1257f8d257/?

 

About the Author

 

For as long as she can remember, Max has always had a love of the macabre and thought provoking side to life.

Which probably stands to reason why each of her books takes the reader on an emotional journey that not only promises twists, turns, and suspense, but a heart-wrenching journey where her motto holds true:

Love never comes easy.

When she’s not lost in an alternate world – fuelled by coffee and the odd sneaky bowl of chocolate (preferably M&Ms) – she spends her days as a wife to a dedicated husband, mother to two rambunctious boys, and an obsessive petrolhead enjoying the muscle on display at the local car shows.

 

Connect with Max

 

Newsletter Sign Up: http://bit.ly/2DF3e4m

Facebook Author Page: http://bit.ly/2zV7bPQ

Goodreads Author Page: http://bit.ly/2ls61Hq

Twitter: http://bit.ly/2CgFerO

Instagram: http://bit.ly/2ltdJ3U

Amazon Author Page: http://amzn.to/2zTX0v6

BookBub Author Page: http://bit.ly/2EmbhnJ

 

Our Reviews of Echoes in the Storm by Max Henry

by Max Henry
Genres: Military Romance

 

 

Title: Echoes in the Storm
Author: Max Henry
Genre: Military Themed Contemporary
Release Date: September 12, 2017
Blurb
“Behind those eyes, a battle rages. One that’s not fought
overseas with guns and tanks, but one that wreaks havoc in the homeland with
harshly spoken words and misguided beliefs.”
One week is all we were supposed to share. One week as
strangers. Yet you became so much more.
You were the echo in my storm.
All the little things you did differently irked me. I
thought it meant we couldn’t get along, that there was no chance we’d work out.
But when it came time for me to leave, you know what I figured out?
They were the faint call of home, lost on the wind and the
roar of thunder. It was you calling me, hoping I’d hear you and find my way out
of the dark that I had lost myself in when I shut off to survive.
You were my echo. My call back.
And fuck it all if I didn’t find home in the end. 
Purchase Links
99c for a limited time
AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU

 

 

Review
Wow! What can I say about this book!! Another hauntingly emotional heart-breaking read by the wonderfully talented Max Henry… Two lost souls share one hell of a week in small town New Zealand. Duke and Cammie at first battle each other all the while wrestling with their own personal demons… Can they find peace in each other or will they forever be lost to the echoes!
Reviewed by Nat
Where do I begin to describe, how I feel after reading this truly beautiful book. It’s not your conventional love story. It’s dark, heartbreaking and has a wow factor that hits you hard. Leaving you reeling from the emotions that tackles you completely and leaves you spent, with tears flowing.

The story of Cammie and Duke is everything, the story is gripping, thought provoking and has a passion that is hard to describe if I am honest. The connection is instant and you can tell that these 2 broken souls are ment to be. The story isn’t complicated or have a harsh fight. It’s book about fate. This is a story I feel needs to be read. It’s therapy in a great story.

This story has all I hope for in my life. It gives you hope that through the darkness and pain. That things are hopeful, to never say never. And that although at the moment I am deaf I will eventually find my peace and hear my echo.

This book is a must read and I will be recommending this amazing storu from and author whom I feel isn’t afraid to be a little different. Here’s to us all hearing our echo eventually.

Reviewed by Donna
Excerpt
Chapter One
Eleven hours in the office, and this is what I have to come
home to. I close my eyes and focus on my breathing, trapped in the naïve
thought that maybe, just maybe, if I wish him away hard enough, it could truly
happen.
Nope. Still there.
Blondie belts a tune out on my car radio, the beat going
some way toward helping me find my zen. Three years on, and the sheer sight of
him still pisses me off the same as it did when he told me “I don’t think I
could ever love you again.”
Yeah. Because loving me meant accepting the fact it wasn’t
my fault, and he refuses to believe that.
I refuse to believe that.
Drawing a deep breath, I reach for the door handle and
promptly cut Blondie off mid-sentence as the crisp evening air rushes into my
safe haven. With my leather tote snatched in my other hand, I rise and plaster
on as natural of a smile as I can manage when my back aches and my feet throb
from overuse.
“Eight months, Jared.”
My ex leans a shoulder against the side of the house, tucked
under the veranda as though he had hoped to blend into the shadows and catch me
by surprise.
“And yet, it hasn’t dulled your attitude any.”
“What do you want?” I shut and lock the car, pining for that
first dip in a hot bath.
“You ignored my calls.” He frowns as I walk right by him.
“Did you think I’d be that easy to brush off?”
“Hardly.” There was a reason he used to be saved in my phone
under ‘Cockroach’. “I’ve been busy.”
“You’re not the only one,” he bites, inviting himself into
the house behind me. “But then again, you never did understand that concept,
did you?”
“Carry on, Jared,” I snap louder than intended. “See how
long this wee conversation lasts if that’s the way you’re going to steer it.”
He pinches the bridge of his nose and sighs. “I’ll make it
quick.” For a fleeting second, I see the vulnerable man I fell in love with ten
years ago. “I want you to sell the house.”
Until that.
“What?” I throw my tote on the side table with more zest
than necessary.
We were married for barely two years, not enough time for
the property to have increased substantially in value. So it was decided when
we split that I’d stay in it, paying the mortgage on my own, and the little
that he had put in over the course of our relationship would be repaid when I
sold.
When I sold.
“If you need the cash—”
“I need an end to this.” He waves a hand between us as I
slump against the hallway wall. “I need to cut ties from you, Cam.”
“I thought we were doing that just fine,” I whisper as I run
my eye over his carefully put together outfit.
Fuck, he unfriended me on Facebook the minute he split. I
don’t even know where he lives now, just that it’s in the city, and judging by
the threads he’s got on he’s doing well for himself.
Of course, he doesn’t need the money. He’s never needed
anything from me. Makes sense then, that he wants me to sell to ensure he has
no reason ever to see me, let alone talk to me, again.
“If you want closure, Jared, I can get my lawyer to send
yours the settlement amount when and if I sell in the future. You don’t have to
deal with me.”
He shrugs. “Except I would. You’d still be there in the back
of my mind every time I have to list assets, Cam. Or if Kell and I want to
apply for another mortgage—it’s still in my name, too.”
“So we change it.” I push aside the reference he made to the
whore who stole him away. “Make a time at the bank, and I’ll meet you there.”
Silence hangs thick, choking the air in the house—the very
reason for this conversation. I push off the wall with the flat of my hand and
take a couple of steps toward the lounge room.
“How long?”
He hangs in the entrance hall. “As soon as we can agree on a
realtor.”
“No.” I drop to the edge of the armchair, bracing myself
with both hands on the cushion. “You’ve got to give me longer.”
“Why, Cam?” He ventures as far as the open doorway, ever
reluctant to get too close to me. “You’ve had three years to get what you need
out of being here. Staying in the house won’t change anything.”
“Exactly,” I whisper.
I never stayed in the hope it would settle the past, or that
the memories the house held could ever ease the pain. I didn’t stay to heal. I
stayed to keep the wound open and festering, to never forget.
I chose to remain in the home we shared so I would be
reminded every day of what I did and why I don’t ever deserve to have that kind
of love again.
“You need to move on,” Jared murmurs as he retraces his
steps toward the door. “It’s not healthy, Cam.”
“I know.”
He twists the handle and opens the front door a fraction,
resting his shoulder against the edge as he drives the nail home a little
harder.
“You need to own up to what you did.”

 

 

Author Bio
Born and bred in Canterbury, New Zealand, Max now resides
with her family in beautiful and sunny Queensland, Australia. 
Life with two young children can be hectic at times, and
although she may not write as often as she would like, Max wouldn’t change a
thing. 

In her down time, Max can be found at her local gym,
brain-storming through a session with the weights. If not, she’s probably out
drooling over one of many classic cars on show that she wishes she owned.
Author Links

 

Cover Reveal – Echoes In The Storm by Max Henry

by Max Henry
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Military Romance

 

 

Title: Echoes in the Storm
Author: Max Henry
Genre: Military Themed Contemporary
Cover Design: Max Effect
Release Date: September 12, 2017
Blurb
“Behind those eyes, a battle rages. One that’s not fought
overseas with guns and tanks, but one that wreaks havoc in the homeland with
harshly spoken words and misguided beliefs.”
One week is all we were supposed to share. One week as
strangers. Yet you became so much more.
You were the echo in my storm.
All the little things you did differently irked me. I
thought it meant we couldn’t get along, that there was no chance we’d work out.
But when it came time for me to leave, you know what I figured out?
They were the faint call of home, lost on the wind and the
roar of thunder. It was you calling me, hoping I’d hear you and find my way out
of the dark that I had lost myself in when I shut off to survive.
You were my echo. My call back.
And fuck it all if I didn’t find home in the end. 
Pre-order Links

 

Excerpt
ECHOES IN THE STORM
Chapter One
Eleven hours in the office, and this is what I have to come
home to. I close my eyes and focus on my breathing, trapped in the naïve
thought that maybe, just maybe, if I wish him away hard enough, it could truly
happen.
Nope. Still there.
Blondie belts a tune out on my car radio, the beat going
some way toward helping me find my zen. Three years on, and the sheer sight of
him still pisses me off the same as it did when he told me “I don’t think I
could ever love you again.”
Yeah. Because loving me meant accepting the fact it wasn’t
my fault, and he refuses to believe that.
I refuse to believe that.
Drawing a deep breath, I reach for the door handle and
promptly cut Blondie off mid-sentence as the crisp evening air rushes into my
safe haven. With my leather tote snatched in my other hand, I rise and plaster
on as natural of a smile as I can manage when my back aches and my feet throb
from overuse.
“Eight months, Jared.”
My ex leans a shoulder against the side of the house, tucked
under the veranda as though he had hoped to blend into the shadows and catch me
by surprise.
“And yet, it hasn’t dulled your attitude any.”
“What do you want?” I shut and lock the car, pining for that
first dip in a hot bath.
“You ignored my calls.” He frowns as I walk right by him.
“Did you think I’d be that easy to brush off?”
“Hardly.” There was a reason he used to be saved in my phone
under ‘Cockroach’. “I’ve been busy.”
“You’re not the only one,” he bites, inviting himself into
the house behind me. “But then again, you never did understand that concept,
did you?”
“Carry on, Jared,” I snap louder than intended. “See how
long this wee conversation lasts if that’s the way you’re going to steer it.”
He pinches the bridge of his nose and sighs. “I’ll make it
quick.” For a fleeting second, I see the vulnerable man I fell in love with ten
years ago. “I want you to sell the house.”
Until that.
“What?” I throw my tote on the side table with more zest
than necessary.
We were married for barely two years, not enough time for
the property to have increased substantially in value. So it was decided when
we split that I’d stay in it, paying the mortgage on my own, and the little
that he had put in over the course of our relationship would be repaid when I
sold.
When I sold.
“If you need the cash—”
“I need an end to this.” He waves a hand between us as I
slump against the hallway wall. “I need to cut ties from you, Cam.”
“I thought we were doing that just fine,” I whisper as I run
my eye over his carefully put together outfit.
Fuck, he unfriended me on Facebook the minute he split. I
don’t even know where he lives now, just that it’s in the city, and judging by
the threads he’s got on he’s doing well for himself.
Of course, he doesn’t need the money. He’s never needed
anything from me. Makes sense then, that he wants me to sell to ensure he has
no reason ever to see me, let alone talk to me, again.
“If you want closure, Jared, I can get my lawyer to send
yours the settlement amount when and if I sell in the future. You don’t have to
deal with me.”
He shrugs. “Except I would. You’d still be there in the back
of my mind every time I have to list assets, Cam. Or if Kell and I want to
apply for another mortgage—it’s still in my name, too.”
“So we change it.” I push aside the reference he made to the
whore who stole him away. “Make a time at the bank, and I’ll meet you there.”
Silence hangs thick, choking the air in the house—the very
reason for this conversation. I push off the wall with the flat of my hand and
take a couple of steps toward the lounge room.
“How long?”
He hangs in the entrance hall. “As soon as we can agree on a
realtor.”
“No.” I drop to the edge of the armchair, bracing myself
with both hands on the cushion. “You’ve got to give me longer.”
“Why, Cam?” He ventures as far as the open doorway, ever
reluctant to get too close to me. “You’ve had three years to get what you need
out of being here. Staying in the house won’t change anything.”
“Exactly,” I whisper.
I never stayed in the hope it would settle the past, or that
the memories the house held could ever ease the pain. I didn’t stay to heal. I
stayed to keep the wound open and festering, to never forget.
I chose to remain in the home we shared so I would be
reminded every day of what I did and why I don’t ever deserve to have that kind
of love again.
“You need to move on,” Jared murmurs as he retraces his
steps toward the door. “It’s not healthy, Cam.”
“I know.”
He twists the handle and opens the front door a fraction,
resting his shoulder against the edge as he drives the nail home a little
harder.
“You need to own up to what you did.”

 

Author Bio
Born and bred in Canterbury, New Zealand, Max now resides
with her family in beautiful and sunny Queensland, Australia. 
Life with two young children can be hectic at times, and
although she may not write as often as she would like, Max wouldn’t change a
thing. 

In her down time, Max can be found at her local gym,
brain-storming through a session with the weights. If not, she’s probably out
drooling over one of many classic cars on show that she wishes she owned.
Author Links

Donna’s 5☆ Review of Misguided by Max Henry

by Max Henry
Genres: MC Romance
Title: Misguided
Series: Fallen Aces MC Book 5
Author: Max Henry
Genre: MC Romance
Release Date: July 18, 2017
Only by losing my freedom, did I realize I was never free at all.

 


My father, the president of the Fallen Aces MC, sent me away to save me from a cold-blooded fate handed down by a tyrannical drug lord. Now, over a year later, my brother has come to take me home.

Only it doesn’t feel like home anymore.

I’m lost, wandering familiar yet foreign halls as I try to work out what my purpose is in this club. What can I offer the people who sacrificed so much to save me? I need a guiding light, something to get me on the right path. Or someone.

Someone like him.

A cocky, playful ladies man, Dog is nothing like what I thought I’d ever need. But as he strips the colors from his back, and reveals the true brilliance of the ones below, I can’t help but fall in love with the overbearing yet guarded man.

He’s guaranteed to break my heart, yet here I stand with it in my hands, offering him all I have left.

All that I am.

Maybe I’m not supposed to survive after all?


 Holy Hell!! This book is just bloody amazing and I really didn’t think Max would ever be able to come close to my book of 2016 Tormented but Misguided is up there with that one for sure. The raw emotion  that I got from this book had me really shook up and I couldn’t write this review for a time as to put into word how I feel is bloody hard.

The characters Dog and Mel are a match made in heaven, they both know it but are both to scared to say just how they feel. Both feeling beaten by the losess they have both experienced and although they are both hiding things they are there for each other. Dog eventually shows his true self and the real man that has stolen my heart. And Mel’s too.

Koen, not the clown, the fool or the Dog he protrays to the world but the man that cares and feels and loves with his all. Mel is kick arse in this book and as the ex presidents daughter she suffers no fools and she doesn’t suffer Dog at all but she bends and bowes for Koen.

This book isn’t a pretty book, it isn’t even lovey dovey, it’s raw, hate filled and just heartbreaking is probably the best way to describe it. I can honestly say that This book and series are some of the best MC books I have read. It’s not all about club life, it’s about finding ones self in the mayhem of their life and in the arms of  loving strong family that they all chose to be a part of.

A huge recommend from me. A page turner that delivers surprise after surprise, time and time again. Max Henry, I can honestly say is one my top 5 authors. What a great wordsmith she really is.

Reviewed by Donna


“Just amazing you don’t want to miss one clicking this fantastic read.” – Brandy Roberts

 

 

“Misguided is a beautiful love story, even if MC Romance is not your thing, this is a love story you have to read.” – Tersia Eloff

 

 

“Love Max Henry love, love her style of writing. This book will keep you flipping pages simply because you need to know what happens!!” – Linda Diamond

 

 

Max is the author of dark, and highly emotional romance. Her Butcher Boys series is centered around a group of ex-street kids who have teamed up with an indebted motorcycle club to take down a notorious drug lord. And her new series, the Fallen Aces MC, is a spin-off from this dark and dangerous world. Her writing has been described as ‘gripping’, and ‘addictive’, taking you on an ’emotional roller coaster ride’.

Originally born and bred in New Zealand, Max now resides with her family in beautiful and sunny Queensland, Australia. Life with two young children can be hectic at times, and although she may not write as often as she would like, Max wouldn’t change a thing. When she’s not engrossed in her dark and twisted fictional worlds, she can be found enjoying the outdoors while 4wd-ing with her family.

HOSTED BY:

Our Reviews of TOUGH LOVE by the amazing MAX HENRY ღღღ 5★

by Max Henry
Genres: Contemporary Romance
 
Title: Tough Love
Author: Max Henry
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Release Date: May 23, 2017
Blurb
Some secrets aren’t meant to stay buried …
Eight years
ago, Amelia Harris had her life ripped out from underneath her. Being the
centre of the town gossip was hard enough, but when the boy who promised her
forever left without so much as a goodbye, he took her ability to love with
him. 
After
family tragedy brings Evan North back into her life, the secrets of her past
have never felt as close as they do now. When the same scandal that tore them
apart rears its ugly head, will history be doomed to repeat itself?

Purchase Links
99c for a limited time
AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU
Reviews
Heartbreaking scenes at the beginning, in the middle and the end! All to create one fabulous story by this author who continues to mix things up and create wonderfully entertaining and thought provoking books.

Amelia is such a refreshingly honest lead female character who hasn’t had an easy life. Evan is a teenage flame who re-enters her life again after many years. This is their story but oh so much more!

Gradual unraveling of the story puzzle pieces help readers understand Amelia and her situation and feel the emotions she experiences. I have to say this is Max Henry’s forte…taking you on an emotional roller coaster but leaving you grateful when it ends.

This story is easy to read, fast paced and thoroughly engaging. The characters are real life like and you can relate to them so easily.

I haven’t the adequate words to describe how fantastic this book is just read it!

Reviewed by Robyn

My God, I really enjoyed this very moving, emotional and heartbreaking story. I was so moved by this story, that it is really hard to put into words and explain just what this was like and how it made me feel. It was thought provoking and down right entertaining. A page turner that I just couldn’t put it down.

The characters were truly unique and Amelia was a great leading lady and I must say honest to a fault. When Evan her childhood sweetheart re-enters her life, their story really begins and takes you on a journey. Briar was the character of the book, that stole my heart and I didn’t recover at all.

I totally recommend this amazing book to everyone. It has everything that you could ask for. I am a complete fan of Max Henry her writing keeps getting better and better.

Reviewed by Donna
Excerpt

“I miss him.”
“I know.”
“He knew everything already, you know? It was easy to be
myself around him.” I reach out and take my drink.
“But that’s not all, is it?” Jess challenges before sipping
her wine. “The fact he knows what happened to you in school isn’t the only
reason you miss him, is it?” She lowers her chin, levelling me with her gaze.
“No.”
I don’t even know how to describe it, that soulful
connection you get with another. When I’m around him, nothing else bothers me.
My world narrows when he’s in view, and I like how it feels to have those
blinders on. It’s as though I’m focussing on the only things that matter: the
people close to me.
“What if I misread him?” I ask. “What if he wasn’t that into
me?”
“How many nights did he come over to see you at Kath’s?”
“Most of them.”
“How many times did he message you?”
“Every day.”
Jess glares, her lips curling up on one side. “Yeah, he
wasn’t into you at all.”

 

Author Bio
Born and bred in Canterbury, New Zealand, Max now resides
with her family in beautiful and sunny Queensland, Australia. 
Life with two young children can be hectic at times, and
although she may not write as often as she would like, Max wouldn’t change a
thing. 

In her down time, Max can be found at her local gym,
brain-storming through a session with the weights. If not, she’s probably out
drooling over one of many classic cars on show that she wishes she owned.
Author Links

 

Cover Reveal: Tough Love by Max Henry

by Max Henry
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Title: Tough Love
Author: Max Henry
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Cover Design: MG Book Covers & Design
Cover Image: Lindee Robinson Photography
Models: Kelly Kirstein & Travis Bendall
Release Date: May 23, 2017
Blurb
Some secrets aren’t meant to stay buried …
Eight years
ago, Amelia Harris had her life ripped out from underneath her. Being the
centre of the town gossip was hard enough, but when the boy who promised her
forever left without so much as a goodbye, he took her ability to love with
him. 
After
family tragedy brings Evan North back into her life, the secrets of her past
have never felt as close as they do now. When the same scandal that tore them
apart rears its ugly head, will history be doomed to repeat itself?

Pre-order Links
99c for a limited time
AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU
Excerpt

“I miss him.”
“I know.”
“He knew everything already, you know? It was easy to be
myself around him.” I reach out and take my drink.
“But that’s not all, is it?” Jess challenges before sipping
her wine. “The fact he knows what happened to you in school isn’t the only
reason you miss him, is it?” She lowers her chin, levelling me with her gaze.
“No.”
I don’t even know how to describe it, that soulful
connection you get with another. When I’m around him, nothing else bothers me.
My world narrows when he’s in view, and I like how it feels to have those
blinders on. It’s as though I’m focussing on the only things that matter: the
people close to me.
“What if I misread him?” I ask. “What if he wasn’t that into
me?”
“How many nights did he come over to see you at Kath’s?”
“Most of them.”
“How many times did he message you?”
“Every day.”
Jess glares, her lips curling up on one side. “Yeah, he
wasn’t into you at all.”

 

Author Bio
Born and bred in Canterbury, New Zealand, Max now resides
with her family in beautiful and sunny Queensland, Australia. 
Life with two young children can be hectic at times, and
although she may not write as often as she would like, Max wouldn’t change a
thing. 

In her down time, Max can be found at her local gym,
brain-storming through a session with the weights. If not, she’s probably out
drooling over one of many classic cars on show that she wishes she owned.
Author Links

 

Tormented by Max Henry – Review

by Max Henry
Genres: MC Romance
Title: Tormented
Series: Fallen Aces MC #3
Author: Max Henry
Genre:  MC Romance
Release Date: December 12, 2016

She’s perfect.


And broken, like you … 
Unaware of how beautiful she is.

And how much worse her life could be … 
She’s cast out for being different, misunderstood, or simply too complicated to bother with.

Just. Like. You … 
She’s still perfect.

Because after all, you can’t break what’s already broken, and you can’t hurt what already suffers.

Or can you …?

 bright-blue_review5star
OMG!!! This book was absolutely awesome and I can’t recommend it enough, this story has you on a knife edge all the way through and you have to wonder if the twisted ways of Abbey and Sawyer will be the end of each other or if they will be the one thing that can save them.

The story is dark and twisted and leaves nothing at all to the imagination. I loved how broken yet beautiful both Abbey and Sawyer were individually but I also loved how they were for towards each other. It was a match made in hell but a love made in heaven.

Sawyer was like the angel of death. In looks and ways. His beauty drew people in and you would never believe what lived behind his eyes. Abbey is beautiful, however, she is broken and scared but she too has her own demons that she fights daily and a huge boogey man that sleeps under her bed.

This book one of my favourite reads of this year and this series is fast becoming one of the best I have read.

“He sent you, then? Interesting.” The low resonance of his words ends on a lion’s purr.
I tip my head back to look into his bruised face—evidence he’s still working, still collecting for the reaper—as he blocks out the sun with his size. He’s over six-foot of bulk, which means my five-foot three petite stature fits snugly into his shadow. 
And as much as I’ve tried to tell myself my memory is a goddamn liar, it still comforts me.
“Apparently I fly below the radar.”
His eyes roam lazily over me, settling on the full sleeve I had tattooed a few weeks back. My breath hitches, betraying the fucking confidence I was trying for, as he reaches out and hooks a thick finger in the leg of my cut-offs. Breathe through it. Breathe. You’ve got through it without giving in before, you can do it again.
“Still getting’ around with your ass hangin’ out, Abbey-girl?”
“Did you think I only did it for you?” I mock.
“How long has it been, anyway?”
I chuckle, shifting my gaze back to his disturbingly beautiful face. He expects me to know how many weeks he’s been in Cali and blurt it out, giving away the fact I’m still painfully aware of him. Yeah, I know how long it’s been, but I ain’t playing that game … yet.
“No idea,” I answer, dealing the nonchalant card as I shrug my shoulders. “Time flies when you’re having fun.”
His eyes darken as he reaches out and places both his meaty paws on my ass cheeks. I force a smile as his fingers skim the hem of my cut-offs where it slices a line over the firm globes. I close my eyes briefly as memories of how good it felt last time his hands were on me come in thick and fast. His touch trails up my back, dipping in at my waist, and pushing the hem of my tank up, exposing my flat stomach as he brings his palms to rest below the swell of my breasts. 
Just a few more minutes and he’ll be done. You can do it.
My fight or flight is going haywire. I need to get away, to place distance between us, but at the same time I’m disgusted on the most part by how easy it seems to keep my feet in place. Anyone else, and they’d be cradling a broken wrist for this, my go-to defense when unwanted hands get too close. But this isn’t just anyone—it’s Sawyer, and it seems that my body still doesn’t know how to lie.
I want it.
But I shouldn’t.
He still wants me.
And I should hate that.
But I’m waiting to see what he does next.
Too much at once, Abbey.
“Still tellin’ the truth, I see,” he teases, swiping his thumbs over my pert nipples before he lets go and steps back.
The sun lances across my face, forcing me to look down to save my eyes watering up. “You want to know why he sent me yet?” I draw a deep, equalizing breath.
“Because you begged him to come?” God, he’s always been such an arrogant bastard.
“Hardly.”
He juts his chin forward, and his tongue peeks out, running along the ridge of his teeth. “What then?”
“War is on, Pretty Boy.” I smile. “It’s time to take daddy down.”
Max is the author of dark, and highly emotional romance. Her Butcher Boys series is centered around a group of ex-street kids who have teamed up with an indebted motorcycle club to take down a notorious drug lord. And her new series, the Fallen Aces MC, is a spin-off from this dark and dangerous world. Her writing has been described as ‘gripping’, and ‘addictive’, taking you on an ’emotional roller coaster ride’.


Originally born and bred in New Zealand, Max now resides with her family in beautiful and sunny Queensland, Australia. Life with two young children can be hectic at times, and although she may not write as often as she would like, Max wouldn’t change a thing. When she’s not engrossed in her dark and twisted fictional worlds, she can be found enjoying the outdoors while 4wd-ing with her family.


HOSTED BY:

Tormented by Max Henry – Cover Reveal

by Max Henry
Genres: MC Romance
Title: Tormented
Series: Fallen Aces MC #3
Author: Max Henry
Genre:  MC Romance
Release Date: December 12, 2016
She’s perfect. And broken, like you …
Unaware of how beautiful she is.

And how much worse her life could be …
She’s cast out for being different, misunderstood, or simply too complicated to bother with.

Just. Like. You …
She’s still perfect.

Because after all, you can’t break what’s already broken, and you can’t hurt what already suffers.

Or can you …?

“He sent you, then? Interesting.” The low resonance of his words ends on a lion’s purr.
I tip my head back to look into his bruised face—evidence he’s still working, still collecting for the reaper—as he blocks out the sun with his size. He’s over six-foot of bulk, which means my five-foot three petite stature fits snugly into his shadow. 
And as much as I’ve tried to tell myself my memory is a goddamn liar, it still comforts me.
“Apparently I fly below the radar.”
His eyes roam lazily over me, settling on the full sleeve I had tattooed a few weeks back. My breath hitches, betraying the fucking confidence I was trying for, as he reaches out and hooks a thick finger in the leg of my cut-offs. Breathe through it. Breathe. You’ve got through it without giving in before, you can do it again.
“Still getting’ around with your ass hangin’ out, Abbey-girl?”
“Did you think I only did it for you?” I mock.
“How long has it been, anyway?”
I chuckle, shifting my gaze back to his disturbingly beautiful face. He expects me to know how many weeks he’s been in Cali and blurt it out, giving away the fact I’m still painfully aware of him. Yeah, I know how long it’s been, but I ain’t playing that game … yet.
“No idea,” I answer, dealing the nonchalant card as I shrug my shoulders. “Time flies when you’re having fun.”
His eyes darken as he reaches out and places both his meaty paws on my ass cheeks. I force a smile as his fingers skim the hem of my cut-offs where it slices a line over the firm globes. I close my eyes briefly as memories of how good it felt last time his hands were on me come in thick and fast. His touch trails up my back, dipping in at my waist, and pushing the hem of my tank up, exposing my flat stomach as he brings his palms to rest below the swell of my breasts. 
Just a few more minutes and he’ll be done. You can do it.
My fight or flight is going haywire. I need to get away, to place distance between us, but at the same time I’m disgusted on the most part by how easy it seems to keep my feet in place. Anyone else, and they’d be cradling a broken wrist for this, my go-to defense when unwanted hands get too close. But this isn’t just anyone—it’s Sawyer, and it seems that my body still doesn’t know how to lie.
I want it.
But I shouldn’t.
He still wants me.
And I should hate that.
But I’m waiting to see what he does next.
Too much at once, Abbey.
“Still tellin’ the truth, I see,” he teases, swiping his thumbs over my pert nipples before he lets go and steps back.
The sun lances across my face, forcing me to look down to save my eyes watering up. “You want to know why he sent me yet?” I draw a deep, equalizing breath.
“Because you begged him to come?” God, he’s always been such an arrogant bastard.
“Hardly.”
He juts his chin forward, and his tongue peeks out, running along the ridge of his teeth. “What then?”
“War is on, Pretty Boy.” I smile. “It’s time to take daddy down.”

Max is the author of dark, and highly emotional romance. Her Butcher Boys series is centered around a group of ex-street kids who have teamed up with an indebted motorcycle club to take down a notorious drug lord. And her new series, the Fallen Aces MC, is a spin-off from this dark and dangerous world. Her writing has been described as ‘gripping’, and ‘addictive’, taking you on an ’emotional roller coaster ride’.


Originally born and bred in New Zealand, Max now resides with her family in beautiful and sunny Queensland, Australia. Life with two young children can be hectic at times, and although she may not write as often as she would like, Max wouldn’t change a thing. When she’s not engrossed in her dark and twisted fictional worlds, she can be found enjoying the outdoors while 4wd-ing with her family.

HOSTED BY:

Malaise by Max Henry – Review

by Max Henry
Genres: New Adult

malaise-banner

unnamed

Title: Malaise by Max Henry
Available: October 11th 2016
Genre: NA Standalone
TBR: http://bit.ly/2dE6B0j

Blurb

Final exams and end of year parties don’t seem so important at your brother’s funeral.

Two short weeks, and Meg would have survived her senior year relatively unscathed. But when her best and only friend—her brother—dies in a questionable road accident, being the loner in her year doesn’t fit as well as it used to.

One act of kindness from the man her small town isolated amidst rumors and lies, and her hope for a day where pain won’t overwhelm her doesn’t seem so far-fetched. Brett Carver is trouble with a capital T, but he’s also the only person who can get Meg to let go and smile.

Some good things are never meant to last.

Arrested for a crime he didn’t commit, the man who finally found a way to bring light back to her dark days is ripped away when she needs him most. Determined not to lose the only good thing to have come out of her year from hell, Meg sets out to prove Brett isn’t guilty. But first, she must accept the ugly truth …

… that the people who can prove his innocence are the same people who will do all it takes to keep them apart.

malaise-teaser-1

Available Now

Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2d6Z4cJ
Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/2efdh8o

malaise-teaser-2

Review

4-star

What a brilliant book, God I dont think a book has ever taken me through so many emotions before. I was heartbroken through the majority of this book.  I just couldn’t believe what I was reading. My heart was aching for Meg and all that she had to go through.

The story is a sad tale to say the least but through it you see, small patches of silver linings and hope. I cried a lot reading this book but I smiled more than I thought I would. The chemistry between Meg and Carver and Meg And Tanya is great to see. Their bonds with her carried her through her pain, loss and the betrayal by those who were supposed to care for her.

I really enjoyed this book and I recommend it so much. I am a little sad that it wasn’t a higher rating but it just fell a little short for me. But never the less it was an awesome read.

Reviewed by Donna

 

About Max Henry

Max is the author of dark, and highly emotional romance. Her Butcher Boys series is centred around a group of men who met living on the street, who have teamed up with an indebted motorcycle club to take down a notorious drug lord. Her writing has been described as ‘gripping’, and ‘addictive’, taking you on an ’emotional roller coaster ride’.

Originally born and bred in New Zealand, Max now resides with her family in beautiful and sunny Queensland, Australia. Life with two young children can be hectic at times, and although she may not write as often as she would like, Max wouldn’t change a thing. When she’s not engrossed in her dark and twisted fictional worlds, she can be found enjoying the outdoors while 4wd-ing with her family.

Stay in Contact with Max on the Following

Facebook | Instagram | Pinterest | Website | Newsletter

Older posts

© 2018 She's a Lip Biter

Theme by Anders NorenUp ↑